North Dakota driver’s license points work as part of a system that identifies and takes action against high-risk drivers by assigning a specific number of points for different types of traffic violations. In North Dakota, drivers accumulate one point for minor violations like speeding 11-15 miles per hour over the limit. For major violations, like fleeing from a police officer, drivers will get 24 points.
Driver’s License Points Per Violation in North Dakota
Number of Points Assigned
Speeding 11-15 miles per hour over the limit
Failing to display license plates
Knowingly operating an unsafe vehicle
Driving on wrong side of road
Speeding 16-20 miles per hour over the limit
Speeding 21-25 miles per hour over the limit
Failing to give immediate notice of accident
No liability insurance
6-14 depending on number of offenses
Speeding 26-35 miles per hour over the limit
Speeding 36-45 miles per hour over the limit
Aggravated reckless driving
Leaving the scene of accident involving property damage
Speeding more than 46 miles per hour over the limit
Leaving the scene of accident involving injury or death
Fleeing from law enforcement officer in a motor vehicle
Violations That Do Not Result in Points in North Dakota
Speeding 1-10 miles per hour over the limit
Nonmoving violation of parking in a space assigned for the mobility impaired
Other Key Things to Know About Points in North Dakota
If you are convicted of a moving violation in another state, points for that violation will be added to your driving record in North Dakota.
Driver’s license points in North Dakota do not expire, but one point is removed for every three months without a traffic violation. However, until they expire, you may still see higher insurance premiums, especially for major violations like DUI’s and reckless driving. Knowing when your points expire will help you understand when you may see a drop in your premiums or when it may be a good time to shop for new insurance.
Points stay on your license for at least three months in North Dakota, since the DMV will remove one point from your license if you have no traffic convictions for 3 months. After they expire, license points will no longer affect your driving privileges, so it’s worth keeping track of how much longer your points will last.… read full answer
License points are designed to penalize drivers for unsafe behavior, and different moving violations will result in a different number of points in each state. For example, in North Dakota, speeding 11-15 miles per hour over the limit will result in one point.
Accumulating too many points too quickly can lead to serious consequences like fines and license suspensions. Drivers might also be classified as a high-risk to insure or be required to file an SR-22. In North Dakota, 12 points will result in a license suspension.
Driving license points are also important because insurance companies check driving records to determine how much risk a driver presents. Customers with more violations on their record will be charged a higher premium since they are considered more likely to file a claim.
You can get points off your license in North Dakota by taking an approved driving course. North Dakota allows drivers who fit certain eligibility requirements to complete a driving course in order to remove three points. You can also complete an approved course to prevent points from being added to your record for any violation worth five license points or less. Additionally, courses can only be completed once every 12 months. Driving courses that reduce your license points might also be called traffic school or … read full answerdefensive driving classes.
Car insurance companies generally check your driving record to determine your risk as a customer. However, your premium has more to do with the violations on your record than the exact number of points on your license. As a result, you can keep your premium from increasing if you take a driving course that prevents a moving violation from going on your record.
Some insurers also give discounts for completing an approved defensive driving class even if it does not affect your license points or driving record. For more information, check out WalletHub’s guide to traffic school.
You can check your driving record in North Dakota by going to the Department of Transportation website and requesting a copy of your driving record. It costs $3 to purchase a copy of your North Dakota driving record online. You will need to provide your name, date of birth and Driver ID. Some states like Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Iowa, and Ohio allow residents to check their driving record for free.… read full answer
How to Check Your Driving Record in North Dakota
Go to the Department of Transportation website.
Provide your personal information.
Pay any applicable fees.
Driving records are important for insurance purposes because car insurance companies charge higher premiums for customers with a history of violations or accidents. For instance, a single speeding ticket increases premiums by an average of 21% in North Dakota. Checking your driving record can help you verify that the information is correct.
It’s also a good idea to see when a violation occurred, because insurance companies generally look at the past three to five years of your driving record. Once insurance companies stop taking the violation into account, you should compare quotes again to be sure you’re still getting the best rate on the coverage you need.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub. Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.