Pennsylvania driver’s license points work as part of a system that identifies and takes action against high-risk drivers by assigning a specific number of points for different types of traffic violations. In Pennsylvania, drivers accumulate two points for minor violations like speeding 6 to 10 miles per hour over the limit. For major violations, like speeding more than 26 miles per hour over the limit, drivers will get five points.
Driver’s License Points Per Violation in Pennsylvania
Number of Points Assigned
Failure to obey authorized person directing traffic
Speeding 6-10 miles per hour over the limit
Failure to stop for a red light
Failure to yield to driver at right at intersection
Speeding 11-15 miles per hour over the limit
Leaving the scene of an accident with property damage
Speeding 16-25 miles per hour over the limit
Speeding more than 26 miles per hour over the limit
Other Key Things to Know About Points in Pennsylvania
If you are convicted of a moving violation in another state, points for that violation will be added to your driving record in Pennsylvania.
Driver’s license points in Pennsylvania expire after 12 months without a violation. However, until they expire, you may still see higher insurance premiums, especially for major violations like DUI’s and reckless driving. Knowing when your points expire will help you understand when you may see a drop in your premiums or when it may be a good time to shop for new insurance.
Points stay on your license for at least one year in Pennsylvania, since the DMV will remove three points from your license if you have no traffic convictions and have not been under a license suspension for 12 months. After they expire, license points will no longer affect your driving privileges, so it’s worth keeping track of how much longer your points will last.… read full answer
License points are designed to penalize drivers for unsafe behavior, and different moving violations will result in a different number of points in each state. For example, in Pennsylvania, failing to stop for a red light will result in three points.
Accumulating too many points too quickly can lead to serious consequences like fines and license suspensions. Drivers might also be classified as a high-risk to insure or be required to file an SR-22. In Pennsylvania, 11 points or more will result in a license suspension.
Driving license points are also important because insurance companies check driving records to determine how much risk a driver presents. Customers with more violations on their record will be charged a higher premium since they are considered more likely to file a claim.
You can get points off your license in Pennsylvania by waiting for them to expire. In Pennsylvania, three points are removed for every year that you do not have a suspended or revoked license and have not committed any violation that results in points.
Even though you cannot remove points from your license in Pennsylvania, there are other ways you can try to lower your car insurance premiums. For instance, some insurance companies give discounts to policyholders who take an approved … read full answerdefensive driving course. You can also address other risk factors, such as by improving your auto insurance score.
You can check your driving record in Pennsylvania by going to the Department of Transportation website and requesting a copy of your driving record. It costs $11 to purchase a copy of your Pennsylvania driving record online. You will need to provide your driver's license number, date of birth and the last four digits of your Social Security number. Some states like Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Iowa, and Ohio allow residents to check their driving record for free.… read full answer
How to Check Your Driving Record in Pennsylvania
Go to the Department of Transportation website.
Provide your personal information.
Pay any applicable fees.
Driving records are important for insurance purposes because car insurance companies charge higher premiums for customers with a history of violations or accidents. For instance, a single speeding ticket increases premiums by an average of 21% in Pennsylvania. Checking your driving record can help you verify that the information is correct.
It’s also a good idea to see when a violation occurred, because insurance companies generally look at the past three to five years of your driving record. Once insurance companies stop taking the violation into account, you should compare quotes again to be sure you’re still getting the best rate on the coverage you need.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub. Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.