Safeco charges a $15 to $25 filing fee for an SR-22, though the exact amount varies between states. In addition to the filing fee, SR-22 insurance from Safeco costs 5% than a standard policy, since drivers who need an SR-22 are considered high-risk.
Most states require drivers to have an SR-22 on file for 3-5 years after being convicted of a serious moving violation, like DUI or reckless driving. Once you no longer need an SR-22, your Safeco rate should start to go back down. In the meantime, there are still ways that you can keep your Safeco premium affordable, including taking advantage of discounts and temporarily limiting your coverage to your state’s minimum requirements.
SR-22 insurance covers the minimum protection required by state law. If the court or state tells you that you need SR-22 insurance certification, your minimum coverage requirements are still the same as for any other resident.
Many states only require liability insurance. In these states, SR-22 insurance covers the costs of the other driver’s injuries or property damage if you’re at fault in an accident. Some states, like Florida and Michigan, also require Personal Injury Protection, which pays medical expenses for you and your passengers. States such as New Jersey and New York mandate uninsured or underinsured motorist protection, as well. This kind of insurance pays for your losses if another driver is at fault and either has no/low liability insurance or is a hit-and-run driver.… read full answer
Like all insurance, SR-22 insurance policies are written with limits. These limits are the maximum amounts the insurance company will pay out for losses. The coverage limits for your SR-22 insurance policy will follow the requirements of the state in which you were convicted or now live, whichever are higher.
SR-22 is actually the name of the form the court or state requires from drivers convicted of certain violations, such as DUI/DWIs, reckless driving, and driving without a license or insurance. The SR-22 must be filled in by your insurance company and certifies that you have the legally required coverage.
Even though it’s minimal, SR-22 coverage can be expensive. The violation you committed will put you into the insurance company’s high-risk pool of drivers. This can raise your insurance costs 25% or more.
To get an SR-22 removed, a driver needs to contact their insurance company once they are no longer required to have the SR-22 on file with their state DMV. While each state has its own rules for how long drivers must maintain an SR-22, it can usually be removed after 3-5 years. Since individual drivers do not handle SR-22 forms themselves, the insurance company will take care of the cancellation.… read full answer
You can contact your state’s DMV to find out exactly when your SR-22 filing period ends. Once you confirm that you no longer need an SR-22, you can call your insurance company and let them know. Your insurer will then notify the DMV that they have cancelled the SR-22 filing.
You should never try to remove your SR-22 before the state-mandated period ends. If the DMV finds out that you cancelled your SR-22 insurance early, you could face serious consequences that include a driver’s license suspension, vehicle registration suspension, and hefty fees. In addition, you will likely have to start the SR-22 filing period all over again.
Finally, if you cancel your SR-22 insurance because you are switching insurance companies, you should cancel the old policy a few days after the new one begins. It can take some time for your state DMV to receive the new filing, and having the policies overlap by a few days helps you avoid a lapse in SR-22 coverage.
SR-22 insurance costs $742 to $1,465 per year ($62 to $122 per month), on average, depending on the insurer and the offense that led to the SR-22 requirement. Because an SR-22 flags you as a high-risk driver, your insurer will charge you more than the average policyholder, plus a filing fee of around $15-$25. “SR-22” refers to a form that your insurer will file with the state to prove you have enough coverage to drive legally.… read full answer
Premiums vary based on infraction, company, state, and individual driver. How much coverage you buy also makes a difference in cost. For instance, if you only buy the minimum amount of insurance required by your state, you can fulfill your SR-22 requirement for a lower price than if you purchased a full coverage policy. And since you only need to have an SR-22 for 1-5 years, depending on the state, your premium will eventually go back down.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.