SR-22 insurance in Colorado costs $674 per year on average, plus a filing fee of $15 to $25 for the SR-22 form your insurer submits on your behalf. In contrast, car insurance for drivers without an SR-22 costs an average of $606 per year.
An SR-22 is a state-issued form verifying that a driver is carrying the minimum amount of car insurance coverage required by the state after they are convicted of a serious violation like DUI or reckless driving. Because an SR-22 designates the policyholder as high-risk, their insurance premium goes up while it's on file with the state. Drivers in Colorado who need to file an SR-22 will also lose any discount related to good driving that they may have previously qualified for.
The effect of an SR-22 on the cost of insurance is only temporary, though. In Colorado, drivers only need to have their SR-22 on file for 1 to 3 years. After that, the driver's premium will start to go back down, assuming they drive responsibly.
You can get your SR-22 removed in Colorado after 3 years by notifying your insurance company, which will cancel the SR-22 filing with the state. Sometimes, the DMV will send you a notice letting you know when your SR-22 period is over.
If you're not sure whether you've satisfied your SR-22 certification requirement, you can find out when you'll be able to remove the high-risk SR-22 label from your driving record by contacting the...
SR-22 insurance costs an average of $62 to $122 per month, depending on the insurer and the offense that led to the SR-22 requirement. The DMV in your state will also charge a one-time fee to file the necessary paperwork.
It costs $25 to $50 to file an SR-22 form with the DMV, depending on the state. In addition to proving you have enough coverage to drive legally, the SR-22 flags you as a...
An SR-22 in Colorado is a certificate proving that a high-risk driver has the legal requirements for car insurance in Colorado. So-called SR-22 insurance raises annual car insurance premiums by roughly $67 in Colorado, compared to standard rates. In addition, there's usually a fee of $15 to $25 for your insurance company to file your SR-22 documentation with the state.
Your SR-22 must be maintained with Colorado's licensing agency for 3 years, according to Colorado...
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub. Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.