SR-22 insurance in Florida costs an average of $857 per year, an increase of 5% compared to standard car insurance rates. In addition to an increased premium, it costs between $15 and $25 to file an SR-22 form in Florida, depending on the insurance company.
An SR-22 is a state-issued form verifying that a driver is carrying the minimum amount of car insurance coverage required by the state after they are convicted of a serious violation like DUI or reckless driving. Because an SR-22 designates the policyholder as high-risk, their insurance premium goes up while it’s on file with the state. Drivers in Florida who need to file an SR-22 will also lose any discount related to good driving that they may have previously qualified for.
The effect of an SR-22 on the cost of insurance is only temporary, though. In Florida, drivers only need to have their SR-22 on file for 3 years. After that, the driver’s premium will start to go back down, assuming they drive responsibly.
Yes, Florida is a no-fault state which means each driver's insurance pays for their own medical bills no matter who causes a collision. Florida drivers are required to purchase personal injury protection (PIP) coverage for that purpose.
Drivers in no-fault states such as Florida can't sue other motorists as easily as drivers in so-called tort states, where fault matters. Specifically, Florida has pure comparative negligence laws. You can collect damages proportionate to your fault. If you're 99% at fault, you can get 1% from the other driver.… read full answer
Why You Should Care That Florida Is A No-Fault State
No-fault means faster payouts. Police and your insurance company don’t need to investigate the cause of an accident before you can get paid for your medical bills. As a result, your bills get paid more quickly than they would in a tort state, where fault for the accident determines the payout.
You’re covered no matter who causes the accident. This alone can make driving in Florida a bit less nerve-wracking.
Premiums are higher. States with no-fault insurance struggle with high rates of fraudulent claims, which raise the costs of insurance for everyone.
No-fault rules don’t apply to property damage. One or both drivers will be at fault after a collision, no matter which state you live in. The police and your insurance company consider Florida’s laws, the circumstances of the collision, and drivers’ testimonies before deciding who is at fault.
Florida limits the timeframe when people can get medical treatment after a crash. The limit (two weeks) is meant to decrease insurance fraud. Unfortunately, fraud is still a huge issue in Florida.
Florida vs Other No-Fault States
Average Annual Premium
Rank Among All States (1=cheapest)
No-fault insurance can make the process of recovering from a collision easier for everyone involved, but it's generally more expensive. Buy as much coverage as you can afford to protect yourself in the event of a costly collision.
FR-44 insurance in Florida is required by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles after a conviction for DUI or DWI. If your driver’s license is suspended, you’ll need this insurance to get a limited hardship license or regain your full driving privileges.
The minimum coverage levels for FR-44 liability insurance are higher than what’s normally required of Florida drivers. Combined with your now riskier driving record, your new coverage levels are likely to at least double your insurance premiums.… read full answer
Plus, Florida law prohibits making monthly payments on FR-44 policies. So your budget will also take the hit of paying in full upfront for either a 6-month or full-year policy, depending on your insurer.
Florida FR-44 Insurance vs Standard Coverage
Florida FR-44 Insurance
Standard Florida Insurance
Bodily Injury per Person
Bodily Injury per Accident
Property Damage per Accident
As a “no-fault” state, Florida allows its residents to drive legally without bodily injury liability insurance. However, Florida’s no-fault law is limited—it doesn’t apply when an injured victim’s medical bills and/or lost income exceed $10,000, or if the injuries are considered “permanent” under Florida law. In these cases, a victim can sue an at-fault driver for losses.
Drivers are required to provide a minimum level of financial coverage when any accident with injuries occurs. If the at-fault driver has no bodily injury insurance, they’re required to post a bond equal to the state’s minimum coverage amount. This changes with an FR-44, however. An FR-44 requires a driver to carry bodily injury liability insurance.
Other Key Things to Know About Florida FR-44 Insurance
If you file an FR-44 form, you will need to maintain your higher coverage for about three years. Your insurance company must file your FR-44 directly with the state, certifying that you have an active policy with the required coverage. If your policy is cancelled or you allow it to lapse through nonpayment, your insurer will have to inform the state of Florida and your license will be suspended. You will also have to begin the three-year coverage period all over again to get your license reinstated.
For violations other than a DUI or DWI, Florida requires the SR-22 form that is used by most states. An SR-22 form only requires the same level of coverage as safe drivers. Florida is the only state besides Virginia that uses Form FR-44—and its higher required coverage levels—for DUI/DWI convictions.
You can get your SR-22 removed in Florida after 3 years by notifying your insurance company, which will cancel the SR-22 filing with the state. Sometimes, the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) will send you a notice letting you know when your SR-22 period is over.
If you’re not sure whether you’ve satisfied your SR-22 certification requirement, you can find out when you’ll be able to remove the high-risk SR-22 label from your driving record by contacting the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV). Drivers who cancel their SR-22 coverage too early risk having their license suspended or facing fines.… read full answer
Once you cancel your SR-22, your insurance premiums will likely go down because you are no longer considered as high-risk. As a result, you should get quotes from different insurance companies to make sure that you’re still getting the best deal. Additionally, if you do not own a car but were previously required to file a non-owner SR-22, you are free to cancel your insurance altogether.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub.
Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.