An SR-22 in DC is a certificate proving that a high-risk driver has the legal requirements for car insurance in DC. So-called SR-22 insurance raises annual car insurance premiums by roughly $892.00 in DC, compared to standard rates. In addition, there’s usually a fee of $15 to $25 for your insurance company to file your SR-22 documentation with the state.
Your SR-22 must be maintained with DC’s licensing agency for 3 years, according to DC law. If your insurance coverage lapses during that time, your insurance company is required to report you to the state. Your SR-22 period resets in that case, and you are required to pay any SR-22-related fees again.
What You Need to Know About SR-22 Insurance in DC:
Who Needs SR-22 Insurance in DC? DC requires SR-22 documentation for drivers who are convicted of serious traffic violations. The list includes reckless driving, hit and run, and DUI, among other major offenses.
How Much Does SR-22 Insurance Raise Premiums in DC? An SR-22 in DC increases car insurance costs by approximately $892.00. That is roughly 53.00% more than the average DC resident pays for car insurance. The increase is proportionate to your traffic violation – multiple DUIs will raise rates more than your first speeding ticket.
What is Minimum SR-22 Car Insurance Coverage in DC: Drivers need bodily injury insurance of at least bodily injury insurance of at least $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident, plus $10,000 of coverage for property damage. You also need $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident, and $5,000 property damage of uninsured motorist coverage.
How to File SR-22 Documentation in DC: Your insurance company will file the SR-22 certificate with the state for you. For the next 3 years, you need to keep your insurance policy active with no lapse in coverage.
SR-22 insurance covers the minimum protection required by state law. If the court or state tells you that you need SR-22 insurance certification, your minimum coverage requirements are still the same as for any other resident.
Many states only require liability insurance. In these states, SR-22 insurance covers the costs of the other driver’s injuries or property damage if you’re at fault in an accident. Some states, like Florida and Michigan, also require Personal Injury Protection, which pays medical expenses for you and your passengers. States such as New Jersey and New York mandate uninsured or underinsured motorist protection, as well. This kind of insurance pays for your losses if another driver is at fault and either has no/low liability insurance or is a hit-and-run driver.… read full answer
Like all insurance, SR-22 insurance policies are written with limits. These limits are the maximum amounts the insurance company will pay out for losses. The coverage limits for your SR-22 insurance policy will follow the requirements of the state in which you were convicted or now live, whichever are higher.
SR-22 is actually the name of the form the court or state requires from drivers convicted of certain violations, such as DUI/DWIs, reckless driving, and driving without a license or insurance. The SR-22 must be filled in by your insurance company and certifies that you have the legally required coverage.
Even though it’s minimal, SR-22 coverage can be expensive. The violation you committed will put you into the insurance company’s high-risk pool of drivers. This can raise your insurance costs 25% or more.
You can get car insurance with a suspended license if you meet certain conditions. You may be able to get insurance if you have a hardship license to drive to work, school, and medical appointments. Or, some companies may be willing to insure your car against non-collision damage —theft, fire, flood, vandalism, falling objects, etc.—if you turn in your plates and store the vehicle. You also may be able to name a family member, friend, or caretaker as the primary driver and exclude yourself from your policy. This will allow someone else to use your car to drive you around or do errands.… read full answer
You may have to shop around for coverage. If your insurance company doesn’t issue high-risk policies, they may cancel or refuse to renew your coverage. Smaller, regional companies and insurers that focus on drivers other companies don’t like to cover, such as The General, are more likely to insure you while your license is suspended.
Before your suspension ends, you will need to have liability coverage and any other state-required insurance again, under your name. The court or state may require you to submit an SR-22 form certifying that you have at least the state’s minimum insurance requirements. Only an insurance company can submit this form, when you purchase insurance, and not all companies will. Once again, you may need to look around, but some major national insurers do offer SR-22 insurance and service, including State Farm, Progressive and GEICO.
Most insurance companies check your driving record for the past five years. Some states regulate this “look-back” period, however, making it longer or shorter. For example, Massachusetts allows insurance companies to look back at 10 years of driving records. Virginia limits insurers to checking only three years of history.
When you apply for, or renew, your auto insurance, the insurance company will evaluate your risk level — how likely you are to cost them money through claims. The best way to do this is by reviewing your driving record. Insurers look for accident reports and both major and minor driving violations.… read full answer
Minor violations include speeding, failure to stop, improper turns, following too closely, etc. These raise your risk in the eyes of an insurance company because they show you don’t obey traffic laws designed to prevent crashes. In most states, minor traffic violations can be seen on your record for only three years.
Speeding (at least 20 mph over the limit), reckless driving, impaired driving, leaving the scene of an accident, and vehicular manslaughter are examples of major driving violations. They stay on your record longer. In Florida, for example, causing an accident while under the influence stays on your record for 75 years, basically your lifetime. Insurance companies count serious violations and at-fault accidents heavily in setting premiums.
Once the blemishes on your record are older than the look-back period, however, they are no longer a factor in setting your rates. For example, if your insurance company has a look-back period of five years, an accident you had in 2014 would stop affecting your rates in 2019. Your insurance rates should decrease at your next renewal as a result.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.