An SR-22 in Kansas is a certificate proving that a high-risk driver has the legal requirements for car insurance in Kansas. So-called SR-22 insurance raises annual car insurance premiums by roughly $476 to $898 in Kansas, compared to standard rates. In addition, there’s usually a fee of $15 to $25 for your insurance company to file your SR-22 documentation with the state.
The SR-22 must be maintained with Kansas’s licensing agency for 1-3 years, according to Kansas law. If your insurance coverage lapses during that time, your insurance company is required to report you to the state. Your SR-22 period resets in that case, and you are required to pay any SR-22-related fees again.
Key Takeaways About SR-22 Insurance in Kansas:
1. Who Needs SR-22 Insurance in Kansas? Drivers convicted of serious traffic violations. Required for 1-3 years.
2. How Much Does SR-22 Insurance Raise Premiums in Kansas? By $476 to $898 - roughly 34% to 64% more than the average Kansas resident pays for car insurance.
3. Minimum SR-22 Car Insurance Coverage in Kansas: $25000 in liability insurance per person, up to $50000 per accident.
4. How to File SR-22 Documentation in Kansas: Your insurance company will file the SR-22 certificate with the state for you.
Who Needs SR-22 Insurance
Kansas drivers need to file an SR-22 and obtain high-risk insurance after being convicted of:
- License suspension
- DUI / DWI
- Reckless driving
- Lapse in SR-22 coverage
- Refusing breathalyzer test
- Driving without insurance
- Driving on a suspended license
- Vehicular homicide
- Hit and run
In other words, Kansas only requires an SR-22 for serious traffic offenses. That’s why insurance companies consider drivers with an SR-22 to be high-risk customers. That means if you are required to buy SR-22 coverage, insurance companies will charge you more in premiums to offset what they see as the added risk of covering you.
When you need SR-22A insurance instead: You need SR-22A insurance if you live in Texas, Georgia, or Missouri and get caught driving without insurance multiple times. Drivers must pay for a six-month SR-22A policy up front, rather than monthly like with an SR-22.
How Much Is SR-22 Insurance in Kansas?
SR-22 insurance in Kansas raises annual car insurance premiums by roughly $476 to $898, compared to standard rates. That’s an increase of 34% to 64%. The penalties are even worse for repeat offenders. Having your license suspended and even going to jail become possibilities.
In addition to being charged more for coverage, you might lose customer discounts with your insurance company. For instance, if you receive a DUI conviction in Kansas, you will be ineligible for a safe-driver discount for 1-3 years. If you were previously benefiting from a 15% safe-driver discount, your premium is guaranteed to go up at least 15% for the next few years.
What if you don’t have a car? Non-owner SR-22 insurance in Kansas is more affordable than regular SR-22 insurance because you’re only insuring yourself, not a vehicle too. It provides the coverage you need to maintain your SR-22, and it covers you if you drive someone else’s car.
Minimum SR-22 Car Insurance Coverage in Kansas:
- Bodily Injury: $25000 per person / $50000 per accident
- Property Damage: $25000 per accident
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist: $25000 per person / $50000 per accident
- Personal Injury Protection: $4500
Kansas law requires these four types of liability insurance coverage, at a minimum, for drivers to be legal on the road. These are the same minimum coverage requirements for all other Kansas drivers. Most high-risk drivers only have to carry extra coverage after multiple SR-22 violations.
Nevertheless, you might want to opt for higher coverage levels in the interest of fully protecting your finances. Also, consider supplemental policy options such as collision coverage or comprehensive coverage. Collision coverage pays for damage to your car from a collision with another car, wildlife, trees, or other objects. Comprehensive coverage handles any other damage to your car, such as from theft, vandalization, or inclement weather.
How to File SR-22 Documentation in Kansas
When you get SR-22 insurance coverage, in Kansas or anywhere else, the insurance company that you obtain the coverage from will file your SR-22 certification with the state on your behalf. Your insurer will also notify the state if you cancel your policy or allow it to lapse prematurely. To fulfill the Kansas SR-22 insurance requirements, drivers must keep their minimum-insurance certification active with the state for 1-3 consecutive years. If there is an interruption, the clock resets.
Remember, you need to maintain your SR-22 even if you move from Kansas. If your policy lapses, your Kansas license will be suspended and you won’t be able to get a license or registration in your new state – plus, you’ll have to pay fines all over again. Contact your insurance agency if you’re moving to make sure there won’t be a lapse in your coverage.
Best SR-22 Insurance in Kansas
If you are required to obtain high-risk car insurance and file an SR-22, make sure to shop around for the best deal possible. It might be convenient to stay with whichever insurance provider covered you before your SR-22 designation, if it will continue to insure you. But that company may or may not continue to be the best option for you.
In particular, you may want to check out The General and Esurance. They are known for offering reasonably-priced SR-22 insurance in Kansas.
Summary: SR-22 Insurance in Kansas
|SR22 Needed After
||Serious traffic violation and/or license suspension
|Average Cost Increase
||$476 to $898
|Min. Bodily Injury Liability Coverage
||$25000 per person / $50000 per accident
|Min. Property Damage Liability Coverage
||$25000 per accident
|Min. Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
||$25000 per person / $50000 per accident
|Personal Injury Protection
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.