An SR-22 in South Carolina is a certificate proving that a high-risk driver has the legal requirements for car insurance in South Carolina. So-called SR-22 insurance raises annual car insurance premiums by roughly $1,026.00 in South Carolina, compared to standard rates. In addition, there’s usually a fee of $15 to $25 for your insurance company to file your SR-22 documentation with the state. The SR-22 must be maintained with South Carolina’s licensing agency for 3 years, according to South Carolina law. If your insurance coverage lapses during that time, your insurance company is required to report you to the state. Your SR-22 period resets in that case, and you are required to pay any SR-22-related fees again.
Key Takeaways About SR-22 Insurance in South Carolina:
1. Who Needs SR-22 Insurance in South Carolina? Drivers convicted of serious traffic violations. Required for 3 years.
2. How Much Does SR-22 Insurance Raise Premiums in South Carolina? By $1,026.00 - roughly 76.00% more than the average South Carolina resident pays for car insurance.
3. Minimum SR-22 Car Insurance Coverage in South Carolina: $25000 in liability insurance per person, up to $50000 per accident.
4. How to File SR-22 Documentation in South Carolina: Your insurance company will file the SR-22 certificate with the state for you.
Who Needs SR-22 Insurance
in South Carolina?
South Carolina drivers need to file an SR-22 and obtain high-risk insurance after being convicted of:
- Multiple convictions for driving without insurance
- Failure to pay damages after collision
- License suspended, revoked, or restricted
- Provisional license assigned
- Suspended, restricted, or revoked license
- Accident while your vehicle is uninsured
In other words, South Carolina only requires an SR-22 for serious traffic offenses. That’s why insurance companies consider drivers with an SR-22 to be high-risk customers. That means if you are required to buy SR-22 coverage, insurance companies will charge you more in premiums to offset what they see as the added risk of covering you.
When you need SR-22A insurance instead: You need SR-22A insurance if you live in Texas, Georgia, or Missouri and get caught driving without insurance multiple times. Drivers must pay for a six-month SR-22A policy up front, rather than monthly like with an SR-22.
How Much Is SR-22 Insurance in South Carolina?
SR-22 insurance in South Carolina raises annual car insurance premiums by roughly $1,026.00, compared to standard rates. That’s an increase of 76.00%. The penalties are even worse for repeat offenders. Having your license suspended and even going to jail become possibilities.In addition to being charged more for coverage, you might lose customer discounts with your insurance company. For instance, if you receive a DUI conviction in South Carolina, you will be ineligible for a safe-driver discount for 3 years. If you were previously benefiting from a 15% safe-driver discount, your premium is guaranteed to go up at least 15% for the next few years.
What if you don’t have a car? Non-owner SR-22 insurance in South Carolina is more affordable than regular SR-22 insurance because you’re only insuring yourself, not a vehicle too. It provides the coverage you need to maintain your SR-22, and it covers you if you drive someone else’s car.
Minimum SR-22 Car Insurance Coverage in South Carolina:
- Bodily Injury: $25000 per person / $50000 per accident
- Property Damage: $25000 per accident
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist: $25000 per person / $50000 per accident
South Carolina law requires these three types of liability insurance coverage, at a minimum, for drivers to be legal on the road. These are the same minimum coverage requirements for all other South Carolina drivers. Most high-risk drivers only have to carry extra coverage after multiple SR-22 violations. Nevertheless, you might want to opt for higher coverage levels in the interest of fully protecting your finances. Also, consider supplemental policy options such as collision coverage or comprehensive coverage. Collision coverage pays for damage to your car from a collision with another car, wildlife, trees, or other objects. Comprehensive coverage handles any other damage to your car, such as from theft, vandalization, or inclement weather.
How to File SR-22 Documentation in South Carolina
When you get SR-22 insurance coverage, in South Carolina or anywhere else, the insurance company that you obtain the coverage from will file your SR-22 certification with the state on your behalf. Your insurer will also notify the state if you cancel your policy or allow it to lapse prematurely. To fulfill the South Carolina SR-22 insurance requirements, drivers must keep their minimum-insurance certification active with the state for 3 consecutive years. If there is an interruption, the clock resets. Remember, you need to maintain your SR-22 even if you move from South Carolina. If your policy lapses, your South Carolina license will be suspended and you won’t be able to get a license or registration in your new state – plus, you’ll have to pay fines all over again. Contact your insurance agency if you’re moving to make sure there won’t be a lapse in your coverage.
Best SR-22 Insurance in South Carolina
If you are required to obtain high-risk car insurance and file an SR-22, make sure to shop around for the best deal possible. It might be convenient to stay with whichever insurance provider covered you before your SR-22 designation, if it will continue to insure you. But that company may or may not continue to be the best option for you. In particular, you may want to check out Direct Auto and Geico. They are known for offering reasonably-priced SR-22 insurance in South Carolina.
Summary: SR-22 Insurance in South Carolina
|SR22 Needed After
||Serious traffic violation and/or license suspension
|Average Cost Increase
|Min. Bodily Injury Liability Coverage
||$25000 per person / $50000 per accident
|Min. Property Damage Liability Coverage
||$25000 per accident
|Min. Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
||$25000 per person / $50000 per accident
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.