Yes, you can get SR-22 insurance without a car if you purchase a non-owner policy and ask the insurance company to file an SR-22 on your behalf with the state DMV. Non-owner SR-22 insurance verifies that high-risk drivers who do not own a vehicle have the minimum amount of car insurance required by their state.
Non-owner SR-22 insurance is not available if you have access to a vehicle owned by someone in your household. Additionally, if you are required to have an ignition interlock breathalyzer device installed in any car you drive after a DUI, you will not be able to purchase non-owner SR-22 coverage.
The cost of non-owner SR-22 insurance varies by state. Since this coverage applies to people who are less likely to drive regularly, it generally costs less than regular SR-22 coverage.
Non-owner SR-22 insurance costs at least $15 - $25, due to the fee insurers charge for filing an SR-22 form with the DMV. Non-owner SR-22 insurance also costs roughly 3% more than a standard non-owner car insurance policy, on average, given the high-risk surcharge that insurers apply to the premiums of drivers who need an SR-22.… read full answer
The exact cost of a non-owner SR-22 policy depends on where the driver lives and how much car insurance they’re required to have. But because non-owner SR-22 insurance applies only to drivers, and not their cars too, it generally costs less than regular SR-22 coverage.
How Non-Owner SR-22 Insurance Works
Non-owner SR-22 insurance is coverage for drivers who do not own a car but are required by their state to file an SR-22 as verification of insurance. Most states require drivers to file an SR-22 after they are convicted of a major moving violation, such as DUI or reckless driving. This applies even if you don’t own a car, which is where non-owner SR-22 insurance comes in handy.
You will not be eligible for non-owner SR-22 insurance if anyone in your household owns a car. If you purchase a non-owner SR-22 policy, you will only need it for 3-5 years, depending on your state. Those who do not plan on driving in the future can drop their coverage once they are no longer required to have an SR-22 on file.
Yes, SR-22 insurance covers any car that you drive, as long as you file for an owner-operator SR-22 certificate. An owner-operator certificate, which is available in most states, is a type of SR-22 form that covers you when you drive any vehicle, regardless of who owns it.
There are two other SR-22 options that cover you in fewer situations. An owner certificate only covers cars that you own, and a non-owner certificate covers you when you’re required to file an SR-22 but you don’t own a car.… read full answer
Non-owner SR-22 insurance is the cheapest option since you’re less likely to file a claim, but it’s important to note that you’ll have to change your policy if you purchase a car later on. Your insurance company will help you decide which certificate is best for you before they file the SR-22 with the state on your behalf.
SR-22 insurance costs $2,336 per year, on average, nationwide. Because an SR-22 flags you as a high-risk driver, your insurance company will charge you a higher premium than the average driver. But the cost of SR-22 insurance changes dramatically based on where you live.
Michigan drivers pay the most for SR-22 insurance, with rates averaging $7,472 annually. On the other hand, Maine has the cheapest SR-22 insurance, with drivers only paying an average of $1,051 per year. How much coverage you buy also makes a difference in cost. If you only buy the minimum amount of insurance required by your state, you can fulfill your SR-22 requirements while keeping your rates as low as possible under the circumstances.… read full answer
It should be noted that the SR-22 form itself doesn’t cause your rates to go up. In fact, your insurance company will only charge you a one-time filing fee of around $25. Instead, your premium will go up based on the infraction that caused you to need an SR-22 in the first place. SR-22s are usually required after serious traffic offenses like DUI, reckless driving, or driving with a suspended license. So, even if your state didn’t require you to have an SR-22, your insurance company would still charge you a higher rate based on your risk as a driver.
Since you only need to have an SR-22 for 3-5 years, your premium will eventually go back down. In the meantime, switching to an insurer with lower rates is the best way to save money on SR-22 insurance. As long as your coverage doesn’t lapse, it won’t affect how long you need the SR-22.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.