To get the State Farm mature driver discount, a customer must be at least 55 years old, live in California, and complete a DMV-approved senior driving course. State Farm’s mature driver discount is only available in California because state law requires insurers to provide a discount to eligible drivers. Customers can expect to see savings of about $90 per year with the State Farm mature driver discount, on average.
State Farm Mature Driver Discount Requirements
Be at least 55 years old.
Be the primary driver of the insured vehicle.
Live in California.
How to Get the State Farm Mature Driver Discount
Meet all of State Farm’s mature driver discount requirements.
Complete a mature driver improvement course that has been approved by the California DMV.
Send State Farm your certificate of completion after finishing the mature driver improvement course.
Confirm your mature driver discount is being applied to your premium by checking your bill. The discount lasts for three years.
Getting the mature driver discount from State Farm is easy as long as you meet all the requirements. Just bear in mind that eligible drivers who live in California can get a mature driver discount from any insurance company in the state. The savings will be about the same no matter which insurance provider a customer chooses.
You can get a State Farm safe driver discount by participating in the company’s optional Drive Safe & Save program. State Farm customers can save up to 30% on their auto insurance policies by participating in this safe driver discount program.
State Farm’s Drive Safe & Save program uses information collected from your smartphone or your vehicle's OnStar service, along with in-vehicle beacons, to calculate your discount. The program monitors things like how quickly you accelerate, your speeding habits, how hard you brake, how fast you take corners, and if you use your cell phone while you drive.… read full answer
How To Get The State Farm Safe Driver Discount
Enroll your vehicle in the Drive Safe & Save program by downloading the Drive Safe & Save app (text SAVE to 78836 to receive a download link).
Log into the app, using your State Farm user ID and password or your driver’s license information, and follow the step-by-step instructions to sign up.
Set up the Bluetooth beacon(s) that State Farm will send you by mail. You will need to sync the beacon(s) with the app while your car is parked and input the car’s odometer readings.
Receive a discount (of about 5%) just for signing up for the Drive Safe & Save program, after you’re all set up.
Use the data the Drive Safe & Save app collects about your driving habits to see how you can become a safer driver and apply that knowledge while you’re behind the wheel. The better you drive, the more you’ll save.
Confirm your performance-based safe driver discount is being applied to your bill. You can do this by checking your Drive Safe & Save account page, checking your bill, or contacting a State Farm representative.
Getting State Farm’s safe driver discount is relatively straightforward. Just bear in mind that some details vary from state to state. For example, only mileage information is used to calculate discounts for customers in Maryland and New York, while customers in other states could see good driving habits rewarded with a discount. Also, the State Farm safe driver discount is not available to residents of California, Massachusetts or Rhode Island.
PIP insurance covers the policyholder, other named drivers, and their passengers. Personal injury protection (PIP) will pay for the medical expenses of any covered individual after a crash, regardless of who was responsible. Named drivers will also be covered under PIP if they are injured by a car as a passenger, pedestrian, or cyclist.… read full answer
Who PIP Insurance Covers
Any other named drivers
Passengers in the car if a named driver is at the wheel
Named drivers who are injured in a car accident, even if they weren’t driving
No-fault states generally require drivers to have PIP so that they can file minor medical claims with their own insurance company after an accident, even if they were not at fault. PIP is available in some at-fault states, as well, because it’s an inexpensive way to protect against medical bills down the road.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.