The Texas Automobile Insurance Plan Association (TAIPA) is a state-run system that assigns high-risk drivers in Texas to car insurance companies in order to help the drivers get the minimum coverage required by state law. Drivers are eligible if they’ve been rejected for auto insurance twice in the past 60 days.
How to Get Insurance With TAIPA:
You must be a Texas resident or have a car registered in the state to apply.
You must certify through your signature that you’ve been rejected by two auto insurance companies within the past 60 days.
Once your application has been accepted, you will be assigned to an insurance company that is licensed to operate within the state. The number of drivers assigned to each company is proportional to how much business the company does within the state, so there’s a good chance that you will be assigned to a major national insurer.
After you’ve been assigned, you’re entitled to three years of continuous coverage.
As an assigned-risk program, TAIPA does not directly provide auto insurance but instead works with private insurance companies to cover high-risk drivers. Drivers in the program can only receive the minimum coverage required by state law, and you should expect to pay a hefty price for it. But if you have TAIPA coverage and go a full year without any tickets or accidents, your rate will start to decrease. And if you have a clean driving record for three years, your assigned company must offer you a cheaper policy outside of the program. If your record is still too high-risk after three years, you can re-apply with TAIPA and be assigned to a new insurer.
To apply for The Texas Automobile Insurance Plan Association, you can call (866) 321-9154 to be put in touch with a local representative. You can also apply online through the TAIPA website.
Full coverage auto insurance in Texas is insurance coverage that includes state-mandated bodily injury and property damage liability coverage, plus collision and comprehensive coverage, medical payments coverage, and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. While there is no single agreed-on definition of “full coverage” in Texas, or anywhere else, these are the most important kinds of protection drivers can buy. Full coverage insurance doesn’t cover all possible losses but should shield you from the most expensive ones.… read full answer
Texas requires its drivers to carry liability insurance to cover the other driver’s losses in an accident. Mandated minimums are $30,000 in injury liability per person, up to a total of $60,000 per accident, and $25,000 in property damage coverage. This isn’t a lot of coverage. Ideally, your liability coverage should equal the financial assets you need to protect. For example, if you have a $1 million stock portfolio to provide you with income now or in retirement, you don’t want to lose it all in a lawsuit. Buying $1 million worth of liability protection would be a good idea, in this case.
No matter who is at fault, collision coverage pays for repairs or replacement of your car after a crash. Comprehensive insurance pays if your car is stolen or damaged by wind, fire, flood, vandalism or falling objects. Basically, it covers damage from anything other than a collision. Unlike liability insurance that comes with specific coverage limits, collision and comprehensive are based on the fair market value of your car. In Texas, if you are financing or leasing your car, your lender or leasing company will require you to carry collision and comprehensive.
Medical payments (MedPay) coverage is often thought of as part of full coverage auto insurance. If your health insurance has coverage gaps, low limits or high deductibles, MedPay is a relatively cheap way to cover your injuries in case of a car accident. However, if you have good health insurance, it may offer many of the same benefits as MedPay. Likewise, you may have other types of insurance (e.g., health insurance, collision coverage, etc.) that make uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance unnecessary. It’s smart to compare coverages and see which kind will provide you with the best protection.
Not every Texan needs every type of insurance that can be included in a full coverage policy. But it’s useful to review your needs regularly. Your situation can change over time. You want to be sure your insurance is keeping pace.
Car insurance usually follows the car in Texas. The types of car insurance that follow the car in Texas are bodily injury liability, personal injury liability, collision, and comprehensive. You’re required to carry bodily injury liability, property damage liability, and PIP in Texas. PIP follows the driver, unlike liability coverage.
If you let someone borrow your car and they cause an accident in Texas, bodily injury liability insurance pays for injuries to the other driver and their passengers. Property damage liability insurance will pay for damage to the other driver's car. If the person who borrowed your car causes damage that exceeds your coverage limits, their liability policy can act as secondary coverage. But their coverage only kicks in after yours is tapped out.
You won’t need to use your PIP or MedPay coverage if someone caused an accident while driving your car because PIP and MedPay follow the driver. You will have to use your collision and comprehensive insurance to pay for damage to your car, though. These optional coverage types pay for your car to be fixed no matter who was driving, but it is a claim on your policy.
It’s always a risk to lend your car to someone else, because you could definitely end up filing a claim using your own insurance in Texas. When someone borrows your car, they also borrow your insurance coverage in most cases.
Texas car insurance laws require all drivers who are in the state for at least 30 days to register their vehicle with the state and carry $85,000 in liability insurance to cover other drivers’ losses in the event of an accident. The minimums are $30,000 in bodily injury liability per person, up to a total of $60,000 per accident, and $25,000 in property damage coverage. Texas uses an “at-fault” system, which requires drivers to pay for the accidents they cause. Texas’s state insurance requirements are relatively moderate. Many states–like Florida–require less coverage. Many others–like Maine–require more.… read full answer
Although Texas law only requires liability insurance, you also need to carry collision and comprehensive insurance if you owe money on your car or are leasing it. Your lender or leasing company requires these coverages in Texas (and elsewhere) to protect their financial interests. Collision coverage will pay to repair or replace your car after a crash. Comprehensive pays if your car is stolen or damaged by wind, fire, flood, vandalism, falling objects, etc.—pretty much anything other than a collision. Other types of coverage such as medical payments, personal injury protection, uninsured/underinsured motorist, and road assistance are optional in Texas.
You must always have your proof-of-insurance card or alternative documentation with you in Texas, in case a police officer asks for it or you’re involved in an accident. You will also need it to register your car, renew your license plate or have your vehicle inspected annually. If you drive without the minimum coverage required by Texas car insurance laws, you could be fined up to $350 for a first offense. For a second offense, fines can reach up to $1,000. Your driver’s license could also be suspended, and your car could be impounded.
You can avoid buying traditional car insurance in Texas by demonstrating financial responsibility in a number of ways. You may deposit $55,000 in cash or securities, or file a surety bond co-signed by two Texas land owners. Those who own more than 25 vehicles can also obtain a certificate of self-insurance and assume responsibility for damages in the event of an accident.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.