No, uninsured motorist coverage is not required in Washington, as drivers can reject the coverage in writing. Still, insurance companies are required to offer at least $25,000 in uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage per person (up to $50,000 per accident), as well as $10,000 in uninsured motorist property damage insurance per accident.
Uninsured motorist bodily injury (UMBI) coverage pays for the medical bills of the policyholder and their passengers who were injured in an accident with an uninsured motorist. The per-person limit applies to each person injured, while the per-accident limit applies if multiple people in your car are injured. Instead of UMBI, drivers in Washington can use personal injury protection (PIP) or MedPay, both of which cover medical bills for the policyholder and their passengers regardless of fault. In Washington, .
Uninsured motorist property damage (UMPD) coverage pays to repair or replace the policyholder’s vehicle. Instead of UMPD, drivers in Washington can use collision insurance, which covers vehicle repairs after an accident.
Additionally, drivers have the option to purchase $25,000 in underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage per person (up to $50,000 per accident), along with $10,000 in underinsured motorist property damage insurance per accident. Underinsured motorist coverage helps pay for a car accident if the at-fault driver has insurance but not enough coverage.
Why You Should Get Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Washington
If you are involved in an accident with an uninsured driver, uninsured motorist coverage provides protection. Normally, the at-fault driver’s liability insurance pays for any property damage or injuries they caused. But if the other driver doesn’t have enough coverage, it can be time-consuming and difficult to sue them for funds to cover any bills. That’s where uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance can help save drivers time and money.
Even though Washington does not require uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage, you should still consider buying it. In Washington, an average of 22% of drivers on the road don’t have car insurance, which means there is a 1 in 6 chance that the other driver won’t have coverage if you get into an accident. Car accidents in Washington can be very expensive, too.
Key Facts About Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Washington:
- Minimum Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person and up to $50,000 per accident
- Minimum Uninsured Motorist Property Damage: $10,000 per accident
- Minimum Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person and up to $50,000 per accident
- Minimum Underinsured Motorist Property Damage: $10,000 per accident
- Uninsured Drivers on the Road: 22%
- Crashes per Year: 103,194
- Odds of a Crash with an Uninsured Driver: 1 in 6
To learn more, check out WalletHub’s guide to uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.