No, you do not need uninsured motorist property damage insurance in Arkansas – it is optional. Arkansas law requires car insurance companies to offer you $25,000 in uninsured motorist property damage (UMPD) coverage, but you can reject it.
Even though it’s not required, UMPD is a good investment for drivers who want to avoid paying out of pocket to fix their car after an accident caused by an uninsured or underinsured motorist. However, UMPD is similar to collision insurance, which pays to fix your car after any accident you’re in. So, if you already have collision coverage, you do not need UMPD.
Uninsured motorist property damage insurance covers the cost to repair or replace the policyholder’s vehicle or other property if it is damaged in an accident caused by an uninsured or underinsured driver. Six states and Washington, D.C., require uninsured motorist property damage insurance, and it’s optional in others.
Uninsured motorist property damage (UMPD) coverage is meant to replace the … read full answerproperty damage liability insurance that an uninsured driver should have purchased. As a result, drivers generally buy uninsured motorist property damage insurance up to the same limits as their property damage liability policy.
UMPD can only be used when the policyholder is not at-fault. In some states, the at-fault driver must be identified in order for UMPD to apply. In others, uninsured motorist property damage coverage will pay for expenses resulting from a hit and run.
UMPD will usually also cover an accident caused by an underinsured driver. In this case, the policyholder would file a claim with their UMPD policy for expenses that exceeded the at-fault driver’s property damage liability limits.
Drivers who do not have uninsured motorist property damage coverage can file a collision claim if their car is damaged by an uninsured driver. Collision insurance pays to repair or replace the policyholder’s vehicle after an accident, regardless of fault. However, collision is usually more expensive to buy than UMPD, and it often has a higher deductible.
No, uninsured motorist coverage is not required in Arkansas, as drivers can reject the coverage in writing. Still, insurance companies are required to offer at least $25,000 in uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage per person (up to $50,000 per accident), as well as $25,000 in uninsured motorist property damage insurance per accident.… read full answer
Additionally, drivers have the option to purchase $25,000 in underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage per person (up to $50,000 per accident), along with $25,000 in underinsured motorist property damage insurance per accident.
For Arkansas drivers who do not opt out by rejecting the coverage in writing, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage helps pay for a car accident in which the other driver doesn’t have car insurance, or doesn’t have enough coverage for the damage they caused.
Why You Should Get Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Arkansas
Normally, an at-fault driver’s insurance helps pay for any damage after an accident. However, if the other driver doesn’t have any – or enough – coverage, it can be time-consuming and difficult to sue them for funds to cover any medical or repair bills. That’s where this optional insurance coverage can help you save time and money.
Even though Arkansas does not require uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage, you should still consider buying it. In Arkansas, an average of 17% of drivers on the road don’t have car insurance, which means there is a 1 in 6 chance that the other driver won’t have coverage if you get into an accident. Car accidents in Arkansas can be very expensive, too.
Key Facts About Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Arkansas:
Minimum Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person and up to $50,000 per accident
Minimum Uninsured Motorist Property Damage: $25,000 per accident
Minimum Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person and up to $50,000 per accident
Minimum Underinsured Motorist Property Damage: $25,000 per accident
If you’re in a car accident and the other driver has no insurance, then any medical bills or costs to repair your vehicle will need to be paid by your insurance company. This is usually done through uninsured motorist coverage, although collision insurance also covers certain costs. In addition, you might be able to sue the uninsured driver for damages. Some states make filing a lawsuit more difficult than others, though.… read full answer
Uninsured motorist (UM) coverage is required in 22 states, and drivers usually have to purchase an amount that’s equal to their basic liability coverage. UM will pay for all of your expenses up to your policy limits when you’re hit by an uninsured driver, from your vehicle repairs to your medical bills. Collision coverage can also protect you in these situations, since it covers repairs to your car after an accident. However, it does not cover medical expenses.
In addition to filing a claim with your insurance company, you might be able to sue the at-fault driver. However, if you live in a no-fault state, this might be difficult. No-fault states require your insurance to pay for your medical expenses after an accident, regardless of who caused it. In order to sue, you must have suffered a severe injury or significant financial loss, although the specific criteria vary between states. If you don’t live in a no-fault state, suing the other driver will be easier, although it might not be worth it. If a driver doesn’t have car insurance, they likely won’t have the resources to pay damages.
Even if the other driver doesn’t have insurance, you should still get their contact information after the accident in case your insurance company needs it. The driver might try to offer you money on the spot to cover your expenses and avoid being caught driving uninsured, but you shouldn’t take it. You can’t immediately know how much the damage is going to cost to repair, so you should still go through your insurance company. In addition, be sure to take photos of the accident scene and file a police report in order to make the claims process go smoothly.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub. Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.