If you don’t have bodily injury coverage in Georgia, you are at risk of being held personally responsible for other people’s medical expenses if you cause a car accident. In Georgia, you are required to have at least $25,000 in bodily injury liability insurance per person and $50,000 per accident.
Bodily injury coverage is one component of liability car insurance, along with property damage liability insurance. Bodily injury liability insurance generally pays for others’ medical expenses, up to your policy limits, after an accident you were at fault for. It can also cover others’ lost income or funeral costs.
Consequences If You Don’t Have Bodily Injury Coverage in Georgia
You face the penalties for driving without insurance. The penalties for driving without insurance in Georgia can include things like hefty fines, license and registration suspension or revocation, mandatory SR-22 filing, or even jail time.
You’ll have higher premiums later. In Georgia, even a single conviction for driving without insurance raises annual premiums.
You could be sued. The people involved in the accident and their insurance companies can sue you for medical expenses if you were at fault.
Drivers in Georgia need $25,000 of bodily injury liability insurance per person (up to $50,000 per accident) and $25,000 of property damage liability insurance. Collision, comprehensive and gap insurance may also be required by a lender or lessor if your vehicle is financed.
In addition, an optional but recommended type of coverage in Georgia is uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance. It replaces the liability coverage an at-fault driver should’ve had and pays for your costs up to your policy limits.
The penalties for driving without insurance in Georgia can include fines up to $1,000, license suspension and imprisonment. Penalties for repeat offenses may be even harsher. You can avoid these consequences by meeting Georgia's minimum car insurance requirements.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Georgia
Type of Offense
License and/or Registration Suspended?
Maximum Fines & Fees
No Proof of Insurance (Can Prove Coverage Later)
$25 mandatory fee
1st Offense With No Coverage
Yes, no more than 12 months
$200 - $1,000
Repeat Offense (No Coverage)
Yes, no more than 12 months
Not having car insurance and not being able to prove that you have it are two different violations. If you have insurance but cannot prove it when you get pulled over or at the scene of an accident, you are guilty of an "administrative violation", similar to a seat-belt ticket. In Georgia, your citation might be dismissed if you can provide the court with proof of valid insurance for the date of the citation within 30 days.
Driving without car insurance at all is much more serious, and the penalties are more severe. In addition to the legal consequences, you can also expect your car insurance premium to go up.
You can avoid these consequences by meeting Georgia's minimum car insurance requirements.
Required Car Insurance in Georgia
$25,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per person
$50,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per accident
$25,000 in property damage liability coverage per accident
The key to maintaining the minimum amount of coverage required by Georgia is to find a policy you can afford. If your coverage has already lapsed, start by comparing quotes from the insurance companies WalletHub's analysis identified as having the best post-lapse rates.
Best Car Insurance in Georgia After a Lapse in Coverage
Drivers in Georgia pay an average of $1,997 per year to maintain the minimum amount of coverage. That's nothing compared to the consequences of driving without insurance, especially if you get into an accident.
What Happens If You Get Into a Car Accident Without Insurance in Georgia?
1. If you get into an accident: all penalties will apply.
If you get into an accident while driving without insurance in Georgia, you will incur the penalties for driving without insurance no matter who is at fault. Driving uninsured can make it difficult to be compensated for damages if you are not at fault and can have long-lasting and life-changing consequences if you are at fault.
2. If the accident is your fault: you'll have to pay for all the damages out of your own pocket.
In addition to the legal consequences of driving without insurance, you could easily be responsible for tens of thousands of dollars or more in damages to your vehicle, the other driver's car repairs and hospital bills, and your own medical care. You could face mounting debt or even bankruptcy, especially if the other driver doesn't carry uninsured motorist coverage or personal injury protection.
3. Even if you were not at fault or only partially at fault, there will be other consequences.
Driving uninsured doesn't negate the other driver's fault entirely, but you're almost certainly going to be penalized and unable to recover everything you would be entitled to if you had insurance. In at-fault states such as Georgia, the driver who caused the accident is usually responsible for damage to your car and any medical treatment you may need. However, Georgia uses a modified comparative negligence system, which means you may not be able to recover all the costs associated with the accident if you are found even partially responsible for causing it. This would leave you to cover these costs out of pocket if you were uninsured at the time.
In Georgia, you need $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person ($50,000 per accident). Bodily injury liability insurance pays for other people's injuries after a car accident that you cause, and it can also cover your legal fees if you are sued after a crash.
In addition to bodily injury liability insurance, drivers in Georgia need to purchase $25,000 in property damage liability insurance. Property damage liability coverage pays for damage to others' property after an accident caused by...
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub. Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.