Delaney Simchuk, Car Insurance Writer
If you don’t have bodily injury coverage in West Virginia, you are at risk of being held personally responsible for other people’s medical expenses if you cause a car accident. In West Virginia, you are required to have at least $25,000 in bodily injury liability insurance per person and $50,000 per accident.
Bodily injury coverage is one component of liability car insurance, along with property damage liability insurance. Bodily injury liability insurance generally pays for others’ medical expenses, up to your policy limits, after an accident you were at fault for. It can also cover others’ lost income or funeral costs.
Consequences If You Don’t Have Bodily Injury Coverage in West Virginia
- You face the penalties for driving without insurance. The penalties for driving without insurance in West Virginia can include things like hefty fines, license and registration suspension or revocation, and even jail time.
- You’ll have higher premiums later. In West Virginia, even a single conviction for driving without insurance raises annual premiums.
- You could be sued. The people involved in the accident and their insurance companies can sue you for medical expenses if you were at fault.
Driving without your state’s minimum liability coverage is a serious offense, one that can have huge financial consequences. To avoid facing those consequences, make sure your insurance policy satisfies West Virginia’s minimum coverage requirements.
To learn more, check out WalletHub’s guide to bodily injury liability insurance.
People also ask
Did we answer your question?