A clean driving record in Michigan is one without any accidents, points or moving violations. Claims aren’t usually included in the definition of a clean driving record, but a record that’s also free of any recent claims does look cleaner. You can check your Michigan driving record by going to the Michigan Department of State website and requesting a copy of your driving record.
Characteristics of a Clean Driving Record in Michigan
3-5 years without any points assigned to your license
3-5 years without any accidents
2 years without any traffic tickets or moving violations
10+ years without any major violations such as DUIs or hit-and-runs
7 years without filing any insurance claims (not always included in the definition of a clean record)
In Michigan, you may be able to remove points from your driving record by taking state-approved defensive driving courses. This may not completely clear your driving record, but it’s a good way to begin.
You can check your driving record in Michigan by going to the Michigan Department of State website and requesting a copy of your driving record. It costs $11 ($12 for a certified copy) to purchase a copy of your Michigan driving record, and you will need to provide your full name, driver's license number and date of birth.… read full answer
Some states like Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Iowa, and Ohio allow residents to check their driving record for free.
How to Check Your Driving Record in Michigan
Go to the Michigan Department of State website.
Provide your personal information.
Pay any applicable fees.
Driving records are important for insurance purposes because car insurance companies charge higher premiums for customers with a history of violations or accidents. For instance, a single speeding ticket increases premiums by an average of 56% in Michigan. Checking your driving record can help you verify that the information is correct.
It’s also a good idea to see when a violation occurred, because insurance companies generally look at the past three to five years of your driving record. Once insurance companies stop taking the violation into account, you should compare quotes again to be sure you’re still getting the best rate on the coverage you need.
Michigan driver’s license points work as part of a system that identifies and takes action against high-risk drivers by assigning a specific number of points for different types of traffic violations. In Michigan, drivers accumulate two points for minor violations like having an open container of alcohol in the vehicle. For major violations, like reckless driving, drivers will get six points.… read full answer
Driver’s License Points Per Violation in Michigan
Number of Points Assigned
Refusing Preliminary Breath Test (PBT) by a driver under age 21
Opening alcohol container in vehicle
Disobeying a traffic signal or stop sign or improper passing
Speeding 11-15 mph over the legal limit
Failure to stop at railroad crossing
Failure to stop for a school bus or for disobeying a school crossing guard
Operating while visibly impaired
Speeding 16 mph or more over the legal limit
Failure to yield/show due caution for emergency vehicles
Refusal to take a chemical test
Failing to stop and give identification at the scene of a crash
Operating under the influence of liquor or drugs
Manslaughter, negligent homicide, or other felony involving use of a motor vehicle
Other Key Things to Know About Points in Michigan
If you are convicted of a moving violation in another state, points for that violation will not be added to your driving record in Michigan.
Driver’s license points in Michigan expire after 24 months. However, until they expire, you may still see higher insurance premiums, especially for major violations like DUI’s and reckless driving. Knowing when your points expire will help you understand when you may see a drop in your premiums or when it may be a good time to shop for new insurance.
No, taking a defensive driving course cannot remove points from your driving record in Michigan. However, taking a defensive driving course may earn you a discount from your insurance company and can help you build safer driving habits. Points in Michigan typically expire after 2 years, though more serious violations may take longer.… read full answer
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub. Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.