Drivers need SR-22 insurance in Hawaii after being convicted of a serious traffic violation, such as reckless driving or DUI. These drivers are considered “high risk” and are required to file an SR-22 certificate with the state to prove they have at least the minimum amount of car insurance required by Hawaii law. Drivers in Hawaii must maintain their SR-22 filing for 3 years.
Your first speeding ticket won’t necessarily guarantee that you need an SR-22. Hawaii only requires an SR-22 for specific traffic offenses, or accidents that cost more than a certain dollar amount.
Drivers in Hawaii Need SR-22 Insurance After:
Driving without insurance
DUI or DWI conviction
Refusing a breathalyzer
Repeated traffic violations
At-fault accident causing injuries or death
Since each of these violations is serious, insurance companies consider drivers who need an SR-22 to be high-risk customers. That means if you are required to buy SR-22 coverage, insurance companies will charge you more in premiums to offset what they see as the added risk of covering you.
You can get your SR-22 removed in Hawaii after 3 years by notifying your insurance company, which will cancel the SR-22 filing with the state. Sometimes, the commonly referred to as "the department of motor vehicles (DMV)". There is no state-wide DMV system. Each county has their own agency. will send you a notice letting you know when your SR-22 period is over.
If you're not sure whether you've satisfied your SR-22 certification requirement, you...
You need an SR-22 in Hawaii for 3 years, meaning you must also maintain at least the minimum car insurance coverage required by Hawaii law for 3 years. Failure to have an SR-22 for 3 years can result in additional penalties and reinstatement fees.
Hawaii SR-22 Insurance Requirements
$20,000 in bodily injury liability insurance per person ($40,000 per accident)
You need an SR-22 if a judge or your state department of motor vehicles has informed you that you do. An SR-22 form, also called a Certificate of Financial Responsibility, may be required if you are trying to reinstate or maintain your license after being convicted of certain driving violations. These include DUI/DWIs, reckless driving, driving without a license or insurance, or repeat offenses. You can only get an SR-22 form from your car insurance...
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub. Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.