Drivers need SR-22 insurance in Massachusetts after being convicted of a serious traffic violation, such as reckless driving or DUI. These drivers are considered “high risk” and are required to file an SR-22 certificate with the state to prove they have at least the minimum amount of car insurance required by Massachusetts law. Drivers in Massachusetts must maintain their SR-22 filing for 3 years.
Your first speeding ticket won’t necessarily guarantee that you need an SR-22. Massachusetts only requires an SR-22 for specific traffic offenses, or accidents that cost more than a certain dollar amount.
Drivers in Massachusetts Need SR-22 Insurance After:
DUI or DWI conviction
Refusing a breathalyzer
Repeated traffic violations
At-fault accident causing injuries or death
Since each of these violations is serious, insurance companies consider drivers who need an SR-22 to be high-risk customers. That means if you are required to buy SR-22 coverage, insurance companies will charge you more in premiums to offset what they see as the added risk of covering you.
You can get your SR-22 removed in Massachusetts by contacting your insurance company once you’re no longer required to have the SR-22 on file with the DMV in the state where your driving privileges were originally suspended. Depending on which state the filing is with, you can remove your SR-22 after 1-5 years.… read full answer
Massachusetts drivers only need an SR-22 if they were convicted of a major moving violation in another state with an SR-22 requirement. If you have an SR-22 on file with the other state’s DMV, you cannot remove it until you’ve had the SR-22 for the mandated period of time. If you’re not sure whether you’ve satisfied your SR-22 certification requirement, you can find out when you’ll be able to remove the high-risk SR-22 label from your driving record by contacting the state DMV. Drivers who cancel their SR-22 coverage too early risk having their license suspended or facing fines.
Once you cancel your SR-22, your insurance premiums will likely go down because you are no longer considered as high-risk. As a result, you should get quotes from different insurance companies to make sure that you’re still getting the best deal. Additionally, if you do not own a car but were previously required to file a non-owner SR-22, you are free to cancel your insurance altogether.
You need an SR-22 in Massachusetts for 1-5 years, depending on which state suspended your driving privileges. Drivers in Massachusetts only need an SR-22 if they are convicted of a major moving violation in another state and that state has an SR-22 requirement.
The amount of coverage that you need depends on the state, too. In any case, you will need at least the minimum amount of coverage mandated by Massachusetts law. But if the state that suspended your driving privileges requires more coverage than Massachusetts, you will have to meet that state’s minimum requirements.… read full answer
When you get SR-22 insurance coverage in Massachusetts, your insurance company files your SR-22 certification with the other state’s DMV. Failing to file an SR-22 will result in you being unable to restore your driving privileges in Massachusetts, since Massachusetts will suspend your license until you can legally drive in the state where you were convicted. Your insurer also notifies the state if you cancel your policy or allow it to lapse prematurely. If there is any lapse in coverage during that time, the clock resets.
If you’re unable to afford your payments, contact your insurance provider before you miss a due date. You can request a different payment plan or get information about subsidized plans that may be more affordable.
You need an SR-22 if a judge or your state department of motor vehicles has informed you that you do. An SR-22 form, also called a Certificate of Financial Responsibility, may be required if you are trying to reinstate or maintain your license after being convicted of certain driving violations. These include DUI/DWIs, reckless driving, driving without a license or insurance, or repeat offenses. You can only get an SR-22 form from your car insurance company. It confirms that you have an active policy with at least the minimum insurance coverage legally required in your state.… read full answer
In most cases, you’ll have to file an annual SR-22, certifying your insurance coverage, for 3 years. However, the time period can range from 2 to 5 years depending on the state and the reason for the SR-22. Also, depending on the state, this time period can start on your offense date, conviction date, license suspension date or reinstatement date. Make sure you know how long you have to maintain your SR-22. If you cancel your insurance before the time is up, your license or registration can be suspended or revoked.
Most states use the SR-22 form. Eight states don’t: Delaware, Kentucky, Minnesota, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, and Pennsylvania. Two states—Florida and Virginia—use the SR-22 but have a different form for DUI/DWI convictions, the FR-44. If you move from one state to another, you will need to maintain your SR-22 certification with your original state through an out-of-state filing, even if your new state doesn’t require SR-22s.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub. Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.