Your account could have been removed from your credit report because 7-10 years have passed since the account was closed. Or, it’s possible that the creditor or credit bureau made a mistake.
Accounts closed in good standing remain on credit reports for 10 years after being closed. Closed accounts not in good standing stay for seven years from when the delinquency that led to the account’s closure first got reported to the credit bureaus. An account will drop off credit reports automatically after the proper time period has elapsed, which could explain why your account was removed from your report.
On the other hand, your account could have been removed due to a mistake made by your creditor or the credit bureau. For example, mistakes may arise from clerical errors, such as your creditor mixing up your account number with someone else’s and making a change you did not request. It’s not likely, but it’s possible.
If you believe the removal of an account from your credit report was a mistake, you can submit a dispute. You can expect a resolution to your dispute within 30 days, starting on the day your dispute is received. You can also check if an account was removed from your credit report through your WalletHub account. You’ll be able to monitor the accounts on your full TransUnion credit report for free and also receive custom advice on how to improve your credit standing.