Union Plus Credit Card

union plus credit card
222 User Reviews (222)
Info about the Union Plus Credit Card has been collected by WalletHub to help consumers better compare cards. The financial institution did not provide the details.
JUMP TO: REWARDS | APRs | REVIEWS | Q&A | CUSTOMER SERVICE INFO
Existing Cardholders
REWARDS | APRs | REVIEWS
Q&A | CUSTOMER SERVICE INFO
Existing Cardholders
minimum credit needed Excellent

Accepted Credit Score

Excellent Credit

Editor’s Take

Review: Union Plus Credit Card

  • Solid rewards. The Capital One Union Plus Credit Card offers a competitive 1.5% Cash Back on all purchases. That’s in the ballpark of what the best cash back credit cards will give you, but most of those offers either have an initial bonus or a slightly higher ongoing earning rate.
  • Union pride and hardship grants. You shouldn’t put too much stock in the Union Plus Credit Card’s branding, considering that other credit cards allow you to customize your card’s image. But the most interesting part of the Union Plus Credit Card is the fact that you will become eligible for $300 to $2,700 in “hardship” grants if your account is in good standing after three months. You can learn more about these grants and their eligibility requirements here.
  • No annual fee. The best cash back credit cards don’t charge annual fees. So in that sense, the Union Plus MasterCard is in the conversation. This also makes it easier to justify keeping the card open just for the hardship grants.
  • Above-average interest. The average credit cards for people with good and excellent credit charge 20.24% and 13.69%, respectively, according to WalletHub research. So you’re bound to overpay if you carry a balance from month to month on this card.
  • Plenty of other options. If you have the good or excellent credit needed to qualify for the Union Plus Credit Card, you’re also likely to get approved for some of the market’s best rewards credit cards. That’s important to keep in mind even if you do apply for the Union Plus Card, especially if you want it mainly for the protection provided by its hardship grants. If you don’t know where you stand, you can check your credit score for free on WalletHub.
4.0 / 5
Read Full Review

Union Plus Credit Card's Rewards

  • Earn 1.5% cash back on all purchases with no limit to the amount you can earn.
  • Get rebates and discounts on AT&T, Teleflora, Union Plus Motor Club and Car Rentals.

Union Plus Credit Card's Key APRs & Fees

Purchase Intro APR  Transfer Intro APR  Regular APR 
0% for 12 months 0% for 12 months 12.9% - 22.74% (V)
Purchase Intro APR  0% for 12 months
Transfer Intro APR  0% for 12 months
Regular APR  12.9% - 22.74% (V)
ANNUAL FEE $0
BALANCE TRANSFER FEE 3%

Union Plus Credit Card's Additional Info

MAX LATE FEE $38
MAX OVERLIMIT
FEE
None
MAX PENALTY APR None
GRACE PERIOD 25 days
ONLINE RESPONSE No
CASH ADVANCE
APR
23.99% (V)
CASH ADVANCE
FEE
4% (min $10)
FOREIGN
TRANSACTION FEE
0%
SMART CHIP Yes, chip-and-signature
  • After 3 months as a cardholder, you may be eligible for hardship grants like Job Loss Grants, Strike Grants, Disability Grants and Hospital Grants.
  • MasterRental® Collision Damage Waiver, Identity Theft Resolution Services and Price Protection.
Apply Now
at Capital One's secure site

Customer Questions and Answers

Don't see what you're looking for? Submit your question about Union Plus Credit Card to our community.

140

Ask

How can I pay my Union Plus Credit Card bill? Reply

Photo of mikebattle
@mikebattle

You can make a Union Plus Credit Card payment online, by mail, through the Capital One mobile app, or by phone. Paying online or with the app is the easiest way to do it. Simply log in on the Capital One mobile app or the Union Plus Capital One portal here, and find the payments section. You will have to provide your bank account and routing numbers to fund the payment. Online payments will post to your account within 1-2 days.

To mail in a payment, send a check or money order to the mailing address listed on your monthly credit card statement. Note that Capital One does not accept cash through the mail, and mailing a payment could take a week or longer to process.

You may also be able to make a payment over the phone at 800-622-2580. Have your credit card number nearby, because they will ask you for it.

show more…
0 Upvotes

How do I check my balance on my Union Plus credit card? Reply 125

Photo of WalletHub
@WalletHub

The best way to check your balance is to enroll in online banking at: https://www.capitalonecardservice.com/ecare/home_nli . You can also call Capital One's customer service at: 800-622-2580 . Hope this helps.

show more…
12 Upvotes

How can I go over my Union Plus Credit Card credit limit? Reply 108

Photo of ExTaxMan
@ExTaxMan

You can't opt in to go over your Union Plus Credit Card credit limit. Capital One, the issuer, used to have a policy called Over the Credit Limit Coverage where people could opt in to exceed their credit limit, but that's no longer a thing.

However, according to Capital One, sometimes, an over-limit purchase (such as a hotel booking) might process, but that’s never guaranteed to happen.

Capital One no longer charges any fees for over-limit purchases, so if you make a purchase that goes over and it happens to still get processed, you won’t be penalized.

show more…
10 Upvotes

Where do I go for a cash advance? Reply 44

4 Upvotes

Does the Union Plus Credit Card support Samsung Pay? Reply 2

Photo of WalletHub
@WalletHub

The Union Plus Credit Card is unfortunately not compatible with Samsung Pay. Even though Capital One is among Samsung Pay’s list of accepted banks, this is a partner card, which excludes it from the list.

In any case, you can see the full list of supported cards and banks here.

show more…
2 Upvotes

Where can I get a Union Plus Credit Card cash advance? Reply 1

Photo of stpatrick1982
@stpatrick1982

There are no special Union Plus Credit Card cash advance locations. You can get a cash advance at pretty much any ATM, if you have the cash advance PIN from Capital One.

But cash advances are extremely expensive, and you should definitely avoid getting one.

show more…
1 Upvote

How can I get a Union Plus Credit card cash advance? Reply 1

Photo of PeterFox
@PeterFox

Yiou can get a cash advance with the Union Plus credit card it you have a PIN.

You also need to be willing to pay a flat fee of 4% (min $10) + an interest rate of 26.24% (V) that starts piling up from the moment you withdraw the money. Any ATM should work, but cash advances are expensive and should only be used in case of emergency.

show more…
1 Upvote

How do I redeem my Union Plus card rewards? Reply 1

Photo of frankth19
@frankth19

To redeem your Union Plus credit card rewards, sign up for an account on capitalone.com or via the Capital One app.

Tap your rewards cash amount at the top of the screen, or scroll down to Redeem Rewards then select Redeem a Purchase, Redeem for a Gift Card or Credit Your Account.

show more…
1 Upvote

What's the Union Plus credit card credit score requirement? Reply 1

Photo of robsam
@robsam

You need a credit score of at least 700 to get the Union Plus credit card. That's good credit.

show more…
1 Upvote

What is the Union Plus credit card phone number for the customer service? Reply 1

Photo of tiarajames
@tiarajames

The Union Plus credit card customer service phone number is 800-622-2580.

It's available 24/7 and it's best to give 'em a call in the morning, to avoid long waiting times.
You should press this sequence to get to talk to a human directly: 0#, then 0# then 0.

show more…
1 Upvote
Show More

Union Plus Credit Card Reviews

Share your insights and review the Union Plus Credit Card.

Your Rating
Delete Review

3.8 out of 5

222 reviews
13%
64%
14%
5%
4%
    Photo of sheila_a_nash
    Aug 05, 2019
    If I could give zero stars, I would, and it would be deserved. Customer Service is the absolute worst...ever!!!
    Interest charges on top of interest charges, we ended up paying off our balance 3 times within one month!!
    Talked with supervisor Kim, no customer service skills...at all!!

    Due to no rewards, horrible customer service, DONT waste your time with this card.
    Photo of dmarie_hollingsworth
    Jun 09, 2019
    This is by far not a good card if you miss a payment by even a week they will start declining any purchases and wont let you use any money on there. If i could have gave it no stars i would have its not worth it there are better cards out there
    Photo of bobbyj_35
    Feb 10, 2019
    This might actually be a decent card for someone rebuilding their credit, but for the rest of us, the Union Plus Mastercard is useless. My FICOS are all over 800, and I've had a great banking relationship with Capital One for years. I applied for it because the perks look really nice. However, I was given a $750 starting limit, and more than 3 years later, Capital One refuses increase it by a penny because show more
    Photo of nickpalos
    Nov 27, 2018
    Garbage card. They won't give credit increases. I have good credit and cards that have 15x the limit this card has. It's a joke, gimmick card. Complete trash. Don't waste your time. Capital One can suck a box of
    Photo of bobbyj_35
    04/20/19
    It seems to be a subprime card, but it's probably best avoided. Your starting limit is your permanent limit, and the interest rates are outrageous regardless of your credit. You'd be better off with just a regular Capital One card. Its terms will improve as your credit improves while the Union Plus card will remain stagnant. It's certainly not worth a hard pull that will lower your scores and remain on your credit reports for show more
    Photo of cgsfv
    12/15/18
    what is lowest score they go ..Mine is 661
    Photo of eggit1949
    Aug 18, 2017
    Don't get this card. If you experience any kind of problem paying they don't have any way to help. Customer service personnel is great but capital 1 policy is bad. I would give them a minus 10 if I could and their customer service employees a 10+
    Photo of
    Jun 04, 2017
    cash back on all purchases and being able to redeem at any time. I am a retired union member and the service I have received from Unionplus has always been outstanding. I have never paid any interest to Unionplus and usually receive at least $500.00 in cash rewards yearly.
    Photo of nicholasb_12
    Dec 08, 2015
    Low credit limit, no rewards, no chip in card after all my other cards have provided me with one,
    Photo of victoriak5
    Nov 09, 2015
    The Union Plus Credit Card offers 0% APR the first 12 months which is more than most other cards that usually offer it for 6 months. I like that there is no reward limit and with the 1.5% cash back earning it makes this card a great choice for me. I wish the cash advance fee would be a little lower. Most other cards have a 2 or 3% fee but the Union Plus Credit show more
    Photo of lisap_23
    Sep 21, 2015
    wish I could give it a zero. was told I was approved with $5000 and card would be sent to me on 8/1 never received, called again on 9/1 and 9/21 complained with BBB. Heard they were just bought by capital one so maybe the people left in the office don't care anymore. Closed account - if I cant even get the card - what other kind of hassles are ahead?
    Photo of ashleys_23
    Aug 25, 2015
    I think it is great that there is no reward limit with this card. This card seems pretty similar to other rewards cards out there though. I do not like that it does not have a chip and that would prevent me from getting this card.
    Photo of lisav_6
    Jul 14, 2015
    I have mixed feelings about this card now that my introductory 0% APR period is over. The interest rate is a bit higher than most of my other cards, but I do like the 2% transaction fee on 12 month 0% APR balance transfer offers. However, I recently made 2 - 0% APR balance transfers about 6 months apart. I always pay more than the minimum due each month, but I just learned that company show more
    Photo of caroliner_2
    May 21, 2015
    I don't think I'd be interested in the Union Plus Credit Card because, unlike some other cards, no online response is available. Also, the regular rate, which is variable, is too high compared to other cards I'm familiar with, and the 3% balance transfer fee is much too high, especially when compared with some other cards which offer free balance transfers. I do like the Assistance benefits, though, as well as the intro rate of show more
    Photo of tobeym627
    May 05, 2015
    That's wonderful that you get 1.5% money back on your purchases. 0% for 12 months is also great! My favorite type of credit cards are the ones that award you for using the card by giving you 0% at the start. I am using a couple of cards like that right now, and I love it! I also love cards where they have no annual fee! That's a great plus! The regular rate of 12.9% show more
    Photo of ajgeorge75
    Apr 20, 2015
    The Union Plus card looks to have really awesome benefits. The first positive is that it has no annual fee and secondly the interest rate and APR are not out of this world. This card is for Union members and isnt available to non union members. One negative that caught my eye is a charge to do balance transfers. This card does have rewards with no limits too. I see that after 3 months you show more
    Photo of astroglowcorona
    Apr 01, 2015
    The Union Plus Credit Card already looks like an amazing choice for those interested in one. No annual fee and no foreign transaction fees are great features to have when using a credit card. Only negative thing i have to say is that it does not have a smart chip. Capital One's has had great customer service and any issue at hand is solved quickly and efficiently. The max late fee is just about right, show more
    Photo of rituc1
    Mar 17, 2015
    This union plus card has some positive feature but dont offer attractive cash back on the purchases.. Here is my take:

    Pros
    - The first year 0% APR was the reason i chose this card as I had to transfer some debts..
    - My BoA was charging very high foreign transaction fee so I use this card on my vacations..
    - Their customer care is responsive in handling disputes for my online purchases with many retailers that dont show more
    Photo of emily.gilson
    Mar 02, 2015
    Capital One's always had great credit cards and good customer service. We have 3 or 4 between us in my family and have been with them several years.

    I see lots of great benefits in this Union Plus card. The variable APR is reasonable and if you have good credit you can probably expect a rate somewhere in the middle. The late fee is high, but not much higher than something from Amex Blue. I show more
    Photo of eric_hill_16
    Feb 13, 2015
    I've always liked Capital One (and I don't even generally like banks to begin with). I was late on my monthly payments a couple of times, due to a change in employment. I called Capital One in advance and notified them of my situation. They were more than accommodating, and allowed me to submit my payments a week late without reporting anything to the credit check agencies. Their interest rates seem to be about standard. show more
    Photo of Jactating
    Feb 03, 2015
    I really enjoy that the Union Plus card's max late fee is set to $35, my PNC credit card had $50 late fees, which were a big hit to me financially. It's also refreshing to see that after only 3 months, a cardholder can be eligible for hardship grants such as job loss and disability. I also think it's great that there aren't any foreign transaction fees. I feel like this credit card keeps the show more
    Photo of jesseg_8
    Dec 23, 2014
    As someone with "below average" credit this card would not be easy for me to get, however it reminds me of the cash rewards card that I do have from NFCU which I love. Much like the union plus card, my card has 1.5% cash back and an average APR of about 13%. Another attractive feature of this card is the fact that it does not charge a foreign transaction fee! This is huge and show more
    Photo of hakob.sa
    Nov 17, 2014
    I have too many credits cards and seemed like the union plus credit card would be just like any other with high APR rate that kills you. But I saw that this card doesn’t have foreign transaction fee, which is almost unbelievable to me because the card I use most of the time, the Wells Fargo student credit, has a pretty high fee for foreign transactions. I think most of my credit cards charge a show more
    Photo of joshua.kruggel
    Nov 03, 2014
    The simple fact that the union plus mastercard has the improved assistance benefits like Disability grants,and hospital grants is amazing. The APR on the union plus card is a few points lower than other cards i've been looking at. Plus I like the look of this card too, so there's another bonus. Just an all around basic good card.
    Photo of pharming
    Oct 06, 2014
    This card looks appealing at first glance. I think the late fee is a bit higher than some other credit cards I have had in the past. The penalty APR is pretty steep. I'm also surprised to see that the base and max % rewards back is the same. One would like to have some benefit with retaining your credit line in good standing for several years. However, the 0% 12 month APR is awesome show more
    Photo of oneill_danielle
    Jul 18, 2014
    The APR on the Union Plus credit card is pretty competitive, and one of the reasons to highly consider this card. I like that the first 12 months have zero interest rate on purchases or transfers - this is a great incentive. No annual fee is positive as is the 4% cash advance fee. Overall I would recommend this card.
    Photo of kadycee
    Jul 03, 2014
    The Union Plus credit card has a reasonable APR and it's always nice to earn cash back. I put food, gas, cellphone bill, various utilities, etc. on this card because they're bills I have to pay anyway, so I might as well earn some money at the same time. The introductory rate was very helpful when I was trying increase my credit score. I could take my time paying it off as I knew it show more
    Photo of KeithSAguilar
    Jun 16, 2014
    I really like this card. It has 0% interest for the first year and it has a very generous credit limit. The interest rate is also very reasonable after the first year. There is no annual fee and since I pay this card on time every month there are no other hidden fees either. I enjoy the online bill pay this card provides and the ability to get cash advances from this card is great show more
    Photo of joseph.wright.3914207
    Jun 11, 2014
    The wonderful thing about the Union Plus Card compared to other cards (like my old
    Chase one) is the fact that it has an introductory rate of 0%. There is no annual fee which is also great, as well as no fees for going over your limits. Overall, a great credit card. I would recommend to nearly everyone. I definitely know it's one of the best credit cards i've ever owned, and trust me, I've show more
    Photo of kimberly.zeiser
    Jun 11, 2014
    The Union Plus Credit Card has a great introductory rate of 0% for the first 12 months on purchases and balance transfers. After the 12 months it jumps to a variable rate anywhere between 12.9%-20.9%, which I find fairly high compared to my current card that has a fixed rate of 7.9%. There is no annual fee and a great rewards program with this card, but the cash advance rate and late fee are fairly show more
    Photo of katie.amoureux
    May 14, 2014
    The Union Plus Credit Card has several advantages as compared to my other credit cards. The best is the 0% introductory interest rate for the first 12 months for both purchases and transfers. In addition, there is no annual fee, which saves you money each year. This is a card with extras specific to union members that help protect you in the case of job loss, strikes, disabilities, and hospital situations and the benefits may show more
    Photo of latwell1
    May 01, 2014
    I love the rates for this card. I am not surprised that they are only allowing in credit ratings that are good and excellent given the very low rate after 12 months as well as free transfer rate. It is also wonderful that they offer benefits assistance for people who have employment difficulty.
    Photo of sinmas19
    Apr 18, 2014
    The Union plus credit card, When first glancing at this credit card you make think its like any other credit card, but the advantages to this one is that their is no annual fee, which is a plus, "Most credit cards have this" Second you have no Over limit fee's and after 3 months of using this card you may be eligible to even better benefits! But lastly the third and final best offer they show more
    Photo of barry.brown.33234571
    Mar 26, 2014
    The Union Plus Credit Card has a very high overall ranking which has caught my eye. Reading through the information provided I am really looking forward to applying for this card. The main reason why I would apply for this card is because of the 1.5% back on all purchases. The 1.5% cash back on all purchases with no limit to the amount you can earn makes this card a great investment. The credit card show more
    Photo of shloft
    Mar 03, 2014
    I think the Union Plus MasterCard Credit Card sounds like a very good card. The 1.5% cash back is better than a lot of the cards we have gotten sent to us. And definitely better than the Capital one card I have since that has zero cash back. The 0% interest for 12months for new purchases and transfers is always very attractive, but most new cards offer the same thing. The thing that stood out show more
    Photo of dave.anderson.37051
    Feb 20, 2014
    The Union Plus Mastercard seems like a very solid card. The interest rate is unusually reasonable compared to the 3 Visa cards that I currently have. Even the penalty APR is about 5% lower than any credit card that I have ever had. The cash advance fee seems a bit high considering there is already a higher interest rate for the cash advance. This is one thing that my Chase credit card does not have. show more
    Photo of sandrab_24
    Feb 18, 2014
    What I really like about the Union Plus Credit Card is the 0% interest for 12 months. Competitors usually offer 6 months. Another plus is that there is no over limit fee! The cash advance fee is low and there is no annual fee.
    Photo of brandonwhellman
    Jan 28, 2014
    The Union Plus Credit Card gives you a steady cash back reward, so you know what you will be earning each time you spend. The introductory 0% APR on the card makes it a good way to get something that you need now, without having to pay an arm and a leg for it in interest.
    Photo of vietunit
    Dec 19, 2013
    The Union Plus Credit Card seems like a decent credit card that anyone would most likely enjoy. The 0% intro APR is pretty nice compared to some of the other credit cards. The fact that there is no real bonus incentive when joining is a bummer compared to my Chase Freedom card which gave a nice bonus when I joined. The rates are somewhat competitive and not too bad but the lack of great rewards show more
    Photo of fikashta
    Sep 06, 2013
    The Union Plus Credit Card is awesome! The intro 0% APR is awesome for those that are going through some tough times and need to borrow a little bit of money while in between jobs. The flat 1.5% cash back on all purchases made is very interesting. I like that it is just a flat rate, so there's no confusion when one needs to calculate which card will be better for certain shopping trips. Also, show more
    Photo of mh8585
    Aug 28, 2013
    The Union Plus is a standard rewards card. Although the rewards aren’t anything to brag about at only 1.5%, it is nice to save money. The card also features no annual fee, 0% interest for 12 months, and a low interest rate. I have a Capital One rewards card which has similar terms but a higher interest rate. I love cash back cards like this and since my credit has improved since getting my Capital show more
    Photo of williamreyesn
    Aug 21, 2013
    The Union Plus Credit Card is a great offering thanks to the decent year long interest free introduction period, and 1.5% cash back perks on all purchases. This card has no annual fee compared to the $69 per year of my old U.S bank silver credit card. In addition, the regular interest rate is lower than most in its category (just 12% on average). If you have good credit rating or above, I would recommend show more

    WalletHub is an independent comparison service.

    We work hard to show you up-to-date product terms, however, this information does not originate from us and thus, we do not guarantee its accuracy. When you click "Apply Now" you will be directed to the offering institution's website. In addition, keep in mind that actual rates and other information may vary for a number of reasons including the applicant's' creditworthiness and differences between an individual's situation and the criteria/assumptions used to generate the information displayed. Before submitting an application, always verify all terms and conditions with the offering institution. Please let us know if you notice any differences.

     

    Ad Disclosure: Offers originating from paying advertisers are noted as “Sponsored” at the top of this page. Advertising may impact how and where offers appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.

    Irrespective of whether an offering institution is a paid advertiser, the presence of offer information on WalletHub does not constitute a referral or endorsement of the institution by us or vice versa. Furthermore, offers have not been reviewed or approved by the offering institution. Information is displayed first and foremost to help consumers make better decisions.

    Editorial Disclaimer: Editorial and user-generated content on this page is not provided, commissioned, reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the issuer. In addition, it is not issuer’s responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.

    Last updated on: August 4th, 2020 at 06:36

    WalletHub is an independent comparison service.

    We work hard to show you up-to-date product terms, however, this information does not originate from us and thus, we do not guarantee its accuracy. When you click "Apply Now" you will be directed to the offering institution's website. In addition, keep in mind that actual rates and other information may vary for a number of reasons including the applicant's' creditworthiness and differences between an individual's situation and the criteria/assumptions used to generate the information displayed. Before submitting an application, always verify all terms and conditions with the offering institution. Please let us know if you notice any differences.

     

    Ad Disclosure: Offers originating from paying advertisers are noted as “Sponsored” at the top of this page. Advertising may impact how and where offers appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.

    Irrespective of whether an offering institution is a paid advertiser, the presence of offer information on WalletHub does not constitute a referral or endorsement of the institution by us or vice versa. Furthermore, offers have not been reviewed or approved by the offering institution. Information is displayed first and foremost to help consumers make better decisions.

    Editorial Disclaimer: Editorial and user-generated content on this page is not provided, commissioned, reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the issuer. In addition, it is not issuer’s responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.

    Offer last updated: Aug 4th, 2020 at 06:36 ET

    Your email request has been submitted

    Thank You



    Go Back

    Due to too many requests from your IP address, you have been blocked.
    If you think this is an error, please contact