Car insurance in New Hampshire costs $42 per month or $503 per year for minimum coverage, on average. The cheapest car insurance companies in New Hampshire are USAA, Patriot, and Auto-Owners, and getting quotes from several companies can help you find the best deal.
The average cost of car insurance in New Hampshire is 25% lower than the national average auto insurance premium. There are several factors that affect how much you’ll pay for car insurance in New Hampshire, including your driving record, age and location, the amount of coverage you purchase, and the insurance company you buy it from.
Average Cost of Car Insurance in New Hampshire by Category
After an at-fault accident:$148 per month
Driver with poor credit: $83 per month
Teen driver:$201 per month
After a DUI: $93 per month
Average Cost of Car Insurance in New Hampshire by Company
Note: Rates are an approximation based on a driver in New Hampshire with minimum coverage and a clean driving record. Actual rates will vary.
How to Lower the Cost of Car Insurance in New Hampshire
Shop around and compare quotes. We recommend comparing quotes from at least three different insurance companies to make sure you are getting the best rate.
Choose a higher deductible. Your deductible is the amount you have to pay out of pocket before your insurance kicks in. Choosing a higher deductible can lower your premiums but means you will have to pay more out-of-pocket when you file a claim.
Consider lowering your coverage. Consider purchasing only the minimum amount of coverage required by your state, rather than purchasing higher limits or a full coverage policy.
Look for discounts you may be eligible for. For instance, most insurance companies offer a good-driver discount for customers with a clean driving record, a good-student discount, or a discount for paying your premiums in full up front.
Drivers in New Hampshire need $25,000 of bodily injury liability insurance per person (up to $50,000 per accident) and $25,000 of property damage liability insurance. New Hampshire also requires MedPay and uninsured motorist insurance. MedPay covers medical expenses for you and your passengers after an accident, and UM replaces the liability coverage an at-fault driver should’ve had and pays for your costs up to your policy limits.… read full answer
Here’s How Much Car Insurance Drivers Need in New Hampshire:
Minimum Coverage Limit
Bodily Injury Liability Coverage (per person)
Bodily Injury Liability Coverage (per accident)
Property Damage Liability
In New Hampshire, you don't need car insurance if you prove you meet liability requirements by depositing money with the state treasury.
If you lease or finance your car, you may be required to carry coverage types that are not mandatory under New Hampshire law. Lenders usually require comprehensive and collision insurance. Collision insurance covers repairs to your car when you hit another car or object. If the damage to your vehicle was caused by something other than a collision—like a natural disaster, vandalism, falling objects, or animals—it is most likely covered by comprehensive insurance. Lenders may also require gap insurance, which covers the difference between what you owe on your loan or lease and what the vehicle was worth if it gets stolen or totaled.
Car insurance in New Hampshire is actually not very expensive compared to the national average, thanks to minimal car insurance regulations and very low auto repair costs.. In New Hampshire, you can expect to pay approximately $3,247 per year for full coverage car insurance or $1,104 per year for minimum coverage. Car insurance in New Hampshire is less expensive than the national average, which is around $2,000 annually for … read full answerfull coverage and about $700 per year for minimum coverage.
The cost of car insurance is steadily increasing, too, both in New Hampshire and nationwide. As the cost of providing insurance goes up, the premiums insurers charge also rise. All insured drivers share the increasing cost of insurance. That is why your rates tend to go up every time your policy is renewed, regardless of whether any individual factors—like your driving record or location—have changed.
There are several unique reasons why car insurance goes up every year in New Hampshire, too, even if your details remain the same.
Top Reasons Car Insurance Is Expensive in New Hampshire
People in New Hampshire are driving more. As a result, the number of accidents, claims, and payouts is rising, too. For example, there were approximately 98 fatal crashes in 2020 in New Hampshire, versus 89 fatal crashes in 2014.
Auto repairs are getting more expensive. Vehicles today cost more to repair due to the added technology and features. For example, a National Association of Insurance Commissioners study found that the average cost of vehicle repairs was around 8% higher in 2018 than it was in 2014.
People in New Hampshire drive uninsured. As the cost of car insurance continues to rise, more drivers take the risk of driving without car insurance. In 2019, 6% of drivers lacked even minimum liability insurance in New Hampshire. The cost of uninsured drivers is passed on to consumers through higher premiums.
Healthcare in New Hampshire is getting more expensive. Car insurance companies are hit hardest when paying out claims involving medical bills, and it’s not getting any cheaper. Healthcare spending increases by an average of 6.9% every year in New Hampshire.
New Hampshire is experiencing more severe weather. In New Hampshire, weather events like tropical cyclones, severe storms, and droughts are becoming increasingly common. These weather events cause insurers to pay out a higher number of claims, which tend to be more expensive and less predictable. As a result, they have to raise rates to keep pace.
However, there could be other issues elevating your rates.
If your driving record is clean and your rates are still high, your car insurance might be expensive because of your:
Age. Drivers under 25 and older than 65 pay more for auto coverage because they are statistically more likely to be involved in serious and fatal accidents. In New Hampshire, 16-year-old drivers pay an average of $2,412 per year, 25-year-old drivers pay an average of $702 per year, and people over 65 pay an average of $496 per year.
Location and driving patterns. Population-dense cities have higher premiums than rural areas because city living usually means more accidents, more property crime, and more frequent claims. In New Hampshire, the most expensive locations for insurance are Londonderry, Derry, and Manchester. You can also expect rates to change based on your driving patterns—long commutes or regular driving in high-risk areas can cost you.
Financial responsibility. In New Hampshire, drivers with no credit pay 98% more on their premiums than drivers with excellent credit. You can also demonstrate financial responsibility by maintaining minimum car insurance with no gaps in coverage. Letting your coverage lapse could result in a higher rate when you get your next policy.
Claims history. Numerous recent claims can drive up your premiums. That's one reason why it sometimes makes sense to pay out of pocket rather than file a claim, especially if a claim won’t get you much more than your deductible.
How to Get Cheaper Car Insurance in New Hampshire
Multiple factors affect the cost of car insurance. Some things you can’t control, but you do have a say in most of the contributing factors. Driving safely, obeying traffic laws, and keeping a clean driving record are the best ways to keep your insurance costs down.
Other than that, the best way to lower your car insurance costs is to compare rates from at least three insurance companies. Ideally, you should check your rates every 6-12 months, when you renew your policy. But at a minimum, be sure to check your record and shop for rates every three to five years, since you may be able to get a lower rate if a traffic violation falls off your record.
In New Hampshire, the most expensive policies cost roughly $3,333 per year, and the least expensive coverage costs around $616 per year, when all driver profile information is the same. That means you could save as much as $2,717 simply by shopping around. Be sure to confirm you’re getting all the discounts you’re eligible for, too.
The penalties for driving without insurance in New Hampshire include license and registration suspension as well as SR-22 requirements. Insurance coverage is not mandatory in New Hampshire, but if you don’t purchase car insurance, you need to prove financial responsibility by depositing money or securities with the state treasury.
If you choose to have car insurance, you’ll need at least $25,000 in bodily injury liability coverage, up to $50,000 per accident, along with $25,000 in liability coverage for property damage. You can instead deposit securities with the state treasury that equal the minimum liability coverage amounts, though.… read full answer
Purchasing New Hampshire’s minimum liability car insurance coverage is the easiest way to satisfy the financial responsibility requirement. Drivers in New Hampshire pay an average of $438 per year to maintain minimum coverage. That’s nothing compared to the consequences of driving without insurance, especially if you get into an accident.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in New Hampshire
Type of Offense
License and/or Registration Suspended?
Maximum Fines & Fees
No Proof of Insurance (Can Prove Coverage)
dismissed with proof
1st Offense With No Coverage
$125 to restore license and registration
Repeat Offense (No Coverage)
$125 to restore license and registration
Not having car insurance and not being able to prove that you have it are two different violations. If you have insurance but cannot prove it when you get pulled over or at the scene of an accident, you are guilty of an “administrative violation,” similar to a seat-belt ticket. Fortunately, New Hampshire does not cite drivers for failing to provide proof of insurance as long as proof is submitted at a later date.
Driving without car insurance at all is much more serious, and the penalties are more severe. In addition to the legal consequences, you can also expect your car insurance premium to go up when you get coverage again. Plus, if you get into an accident while driving without insurance in New Hampshire, you will be cited and all the penalties for driving without insurance will apply, no matter who is at fault. And if the accident is your fault, you’ll have to pay for all the damages out of your own pocket.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub. Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.