A conviction for driving under the influence (DUI) will make it harder to get car insurance and will increase premiums by 30% to 370%, depending on the state and insurance company. The best car insurance companies after a DUI are State Farm, Allstate, Progressive and Geico because they do not increase premiums as much as other insurers.
Key Points To Know About DUI Insurance
- A DUI conviction is only one of several factors that insurers use to determine risk and each insurer calculates premiums differently.
- Every state has a last-resort program to provide car insurance for drivers convicted of DUI and other serious offenses.
- Insurance rates can increase by up to 370% after a first DUI, depending on the state and insurance company.
- The best thing to do after a DUI is never let it happen again. Both criminal and insurance penalties are far more significant for repeat offenders.
DUI Insurance Costs
WalletHub recently studied the impact of many high-risk driving behaviors on car insurance rates. This study compared insurance pricing from the five largest insurers for a middle-aged male driver with a full set of coverage on a 7-year-old family sedan – before and after adding in a high-risk driving issue like a DUI. You can learn more about the methodology here.
Based on this research, our example driver obtained quotes that ranged from 16% to 47% higher after reporting a DUI conviction:
Average DUI Insurance Cost Increase
Cheapest Car Insurance After A DUI
Cheapest Car Insurance Company After A DUI by State
|Arizona||Noblr's Reciprocal Exchange||$152|
|Louisiana||Louisiana Farm Bureau||$791|
|Massachusetts||The Hanover Group||$599|
|Minnesota||West Bend Mutual||$664|
|Missouri||Missouri Farm Bureau||$429|
|New Jersey||NJM Insurance Group||$785|
What To Do If You Are Denied Car Insurance After A DUI
If you have a valid driver’s license but you keep getting turned down for insurance, your state government can help. Each state has a program to provide a last resort form of liability insurance to drivers and enable them to legally get back on the road.
Normally these “assigned risk” programs are more expensive than other options and only provide liability insurance. So make sure you shop around before resorting to your state’s program for the riskiest drivers.
To learn more about assigned risk plans, read WalletHub's full assigned risk auto insurance answer.
4 Tips For Rebounding From A DUI
1. Make sure to comply with SR-22 requirements
You or your insurer may be required to file an SR-22 or FR-44 certification with the state to confirm that you are carrying the minimum required car insurance. The requirement lasts for three years in many states. Read more here: SR-22 Insurance.
2. Don’t overlook non-owner insurance
If you don’t need a car of your own, you can save on car insurance by getting a non-owner policy. Non-owner car insurance will satisfy your state’s liability insurance requirement so that you can get your driver’s license reinstated.
3. Don’t let it happen again
The consequences of a second or third DUI conviction are far more serious than the first. Whatever number you’re at, do whatever it takes to make sure you don’t repeat your bad behavior. Drunk driving is not only dangerous to your wallet but also endangers your life and the lives of other people on the road.
4. Do the math for alternate transportation
Getting back on the road after a DUI is expensive. In addition to increased insurance costs, you’ll have many fines and fees to pay to get your driver’s license reinstated. It pays to weigh those costs – and the other costs of driving – against transportation alternatives. Even relying on taxis and car hailing services like Uber might be cheaper than driving after a DUI.