An FR-44 form is a document of financial responsibility that is required in Florida and Virginia to verify that drivers convicted of a DUI have sufficient car insurance coverage. FR-44s require drivers to have additional coverage beyond the minimum amount required by state law, unlike SR-22 forms.
When an FR-44 Is Required
Drivers are often required to file an FR-44 in order to reinstate a suspended license after a DUI. To get an FR-44, you need to contact your car insurance company and ask them to file one with the state on your behalf. If you don’t already have enough coverage to meet the state’s FR-44 requirements, then you will need to purchase additional insurance.
Cost of an FR-44
You should expect your insurance company to charge an FR-44 filing fee between $15 and $25. Since an FR-44 classifies you as high-risk and means that you have to purchase additional coverage, it will raise your rate by an average of 66%. But the good news is that an FR-44 only lasts for three years. Once you no longer need an FR-44, your premium will start to decrease if you practice good driving habits and maintain continuous coverage.
The cost of FR-44 insurance starts with a fee between $15 and $25 for filing the FR-44 form with the state, which your insurer will do on your behalf. FR-44 insurance policies also cost about 66% more than the average car insurance policy in Florida and Virginia, the two states that require an FR-44 after certain offenses.… read full answer
An FR-44 is a state-issued form verifying that a driver has a certain amount of car insurance coverage. Florida and Virginia require drivers to file an FR-44 if they have been convicted of certain traffic offenses such as DUI. This causes drivers to be classified as high-risk, and they pay higher premiums and might have a harder time finding coverage as a result.
In addition, FR-44 insurance requires drivers to carry more than the state minimum coverage, which drives up rates even more. For example, Virginia law requires most drivers to carry $50,000 in bodily injury liability insurance per accident. But if you have FR-44 insurance, you’re required to have $100,000 in coverage per accident.
The good news is that you won’t be stuck paying for FR-44 insurance forever. Florida and Virginia only require drivers to have an FR-44 for three years, so if you practice good driving habits during that time, your rates will eventually go back down.
Yes, Progressive does offer FR-44 insurance for both new and existing customers. An FR-44 however, is not a type of coverage, it is instead a form for drivers convicted of certain major offenses in Florida and Virginia. People required to carry an FR-44 will have to get insurance with higher limits than the minimum liability limits imposed by the state.… read full answer
Most states will use a standard SR-22 form for drivers convicted of certain violations. Florida and Virginia however, require an SR-22 for minor violations and an FR-44 for more severe driving offenses (such as DUIs or DWIs).
FR-44 minimum liability requirements:
Florida: $100,000 per person/ $300,000 per accident in bodily injury liability and $50,000 in property damage liability
Virginia: $50,000 per person/ $100,000 per accident in bodily injury liability and $40,000 in property damage liability
You can contact Progressive at (866) 749-7436 to let them know you need an FR-44 and they'll file it on your behalf with the requesting state.
Yes, you can get FR-44 insurance without a vehicle if you purchase a non-owner policy and ask your insurance company to file an FR-44 on your behalf with the state DMV. Florida and Virginia use FR-44 forms to verify that drivers who have been convicted of DUI are carrying enough car insurance coverage. Even if you do not own a car, you must file an FR-44 if your state requires you to do so.… read full answer
In addition to providing enough liability insurance to meet a state’s FR-44 requirements, a non-owner FR-44 policy may also include any other types of car insurance required in your state, such as personal injury protection (PIP) and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. You will not be able to purchase a non-owner policy if you have regular access to a vehicle owned by someone in your household, however.
The cost of non-owner FR-44 insurance varies based on the driver and their state. Since it applies to drivers who are less likely to drive regularly, it generally costs less than regular FR-44 coverage.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub.
Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.