Car insurance in Wyoming costs $24 per month or $291 per year for minimum coverage, on average. The cheapest car insurance companies in Wyoming are USAA, Geico, and Farmers, and getting quotes from several companies can help you find the best deal.
The average cost of car insurance in Wyoming is 57% lower than the national average auto insurance premium. There are several factors that affect how much you’ll pay for car insurance in Wyoming, including your driving record, age and location, the amount of coverage you purchase, and the insurance company you buy it from.
Average Cost of Car Insurance in Wyoming by Category
After an at-fault accident:$92 per month
Driver with poor credit: $37 per month
Teen driver:$117 per month
After a DUI: $43 per month
Average Cost of Car Insurance in Wyoming by Company
Note: Rates are an approximation based on a driver in Wyoming with minimum coverage and a clean driving record. Actual rates will vary.
How to Lower the Cost of Car Insurance in Wyoming
Shop around and compare quotes. We recommend comparing quotes from at least three different insurance companies to make sure you are getting the best rate.
Choose a higher deductible. Your deductible is the amount you have to pay out of pocket before your insurance kicks in. Choosing a higher deductible can lower your premiums but means you will have to pay more out-of-pocket when you file a claim.
Consider lowering your coverage. Consider purchasing only the minimum amount of coverage required by your state, rather than purchasing higher limits or a full coverage policy.
Look for discounts you may be eligible for. For instance, most insurance companies offer a good-driver discount for customers with a clean driving record, a good-student discount, or a discount for paying your premiums in full up front.
Drivers in Wyoming need $25,000 of bodily injury liability insurance per person (up to $50,000 per accident) and $20,000 of property damage liability insurance. Collision, comprehensive and gap insurance may also be required by a lender or lessor if your vehicle is financed.
In addition, an optional but recommended type of coverage in Wyoming is … read full answeruninsured/underinsured motorist insurance. It replaces the liability coverage an at-fault driver should’ve had and pays for your costs up to your policy limits.
Here’s How Much Car Insurance Drivers Need in Wyoming:
Minimum Coverage Limit
Bodily Injury Liability Coverage (per person)
Bodily Injury Liability Coverage (per accident)
Property Damage Liability
If you lease or finance your car, you may be required to carry coverage types that are not mandatory under Wyoming law. Lenders or lessors usually require comprehensive and collision insurance. Collision insurance covers repairs to your car when you hit another car or object. If the damage to your vehicle was caused by something other than a collision—like a natural disaster, vandalism, falling objects, or animals—it is most likely covered by comprehensive insurance. Lenders may also require gap insurance, which covers the difference between what you owe on your loan or lease and what the vehicle is worth if it has been stolen or totaled.
Car insurance in Wyoming is expensive because it has the second-highest rate of traffic fatalities in the country, with 21.2 deaths per 100,000 people (compared to the national average of 10). Wyoming's severe weather, rural landscape, and low rate of sea. In Wyoming, you can expect to pay approximately $3,397 per year for full coverage car insurance or $588 per year for minimum coverage. Car insurance in Wyoming is less expensive than the national average, which is around $2,000 annually for … read full answerfull coverage and about $700 per year for minimum coverage.
The cost of car insurance is steadily increasing, too, both in Wyoming and nationwide. As the cost of providing insurance goes up, the premiums insurers charge also rise. All insured drivers share the increasing cost of insurance. That is why your rates tend to go up every time your policy is renewed, regardless of whether any individual factors—like your driving record or location—have changed.
There are several unique reasons why car insurance goes up every year in Wyoming, too, even if your details remain the same.
Top Reasons Car Insurance Is Expensive in Wyoming
People in Wyoming are driving more. As a result, the number of accidents, claims, and payouts is rising, too. For example, there were approximately 114 fatal crashes in 2020 in Wyoming, versus 75 fatal crashes in 2013.
Auto repairs are getting more expensive. Vehicles today cost more to repair due to the added technology and features. For example, a National Association of Insurance Commissioners study found that the average cost of vehicle repairs was around 8% higher in 2018 than it was in 2014.
People in Wyoming drive uninsured. As the cost of car insurance continues to rise, more drivers take the risk of driving without car insurance. In 2019, 6% of drivers lacked even minimum liability insurance in Wyoming. The cost of uninsured drivers is passed on to consumers through higher premiums.
Healthcare in Wyoming is getting more expensive. Car insurance companies are hit hardest when paying out claims involving medical bills, and it’s not getting any cheaper. Healthcare spending increases by an average of 7.0% every year in Wyoming.
Wyoming is experiencing more severe weather. In Wyoming, weather events like droughts, severe storms, and wildfires are becoming increasingly common. These weather events cause insurers to pay out a higher number of claims, which tend to be more expensive and less predictable. As a result, they have to raise rates to keep pace.
However, there could be other issues elevating your rates.
If your driving record is clean and your rates are still high, your car insurance might be expensive because of your:
Age. Drivers under 25 and older than 65 pay more for auto coverage because they are statistically more likely to be involved in serious and fatal accidents. In Wyoming, 16-year-old drivers pay an average of $1,404 per year, 25-year-old drivers pay an average of $339 per year, and people over 65 pay an average of $292 per year.
Location and driving patterns. Population-dense cities have higher premiums than rural areas because city living usually means more accidents, more property crime, and more frequent claims. In Wyoming, the most expensive locations for insurance are Evansville, Casper, and Cheyenne. You can also expect rates to change based on your driving patterns—long commutes or regular driving in high-risk areas can cost you.
Financial responsibility. In Wyoming, drivers with no credit pay 53% more on their premiums than drivers with excellent credit. You can also demonstrate financial responsibility by maintaining minimum car insurance with no gaps in coverage. Letting your coverage lapse could result in a higher rate when you get your next policy.
Claims history. Numerous recent claims can drive up your premiums. That's one reason why it sometimes makes sense to pay out of pocket rather than file a claim, especially if a claim won’t get you much more than your deductible.
How to Get Cheaper Car Insurance in Wyoming
Multiple factors affect the cost of car insurance. Some things you can’t control, but you do have a say in most of the contributing factors. Driving safely, obeying traffic laws, and keeping a clean driving record are the best ways to keep your insurance costs down.
Other than that, the best way to lower your car insurance costs is to compare rates from at least three insurance companies. Ideally, you should check your rates every 6-12 months, when you renew your policy. But at a minimum, be sure to check your record and shop for rates every three to five years, since you may be able to get a lower rate if a traffic violation falls off your record.
In Wyoming, the most expensive policies cost roughly $1,396 per year, and the least expensive coverage costs around $462 per year, when all driver profile information is the same. That means you could save as much as $935 simply by shopping around. Be sure to confirm you’re getting all the discounts you’re eligible for, too.
The penalties for driving without insurance in Wyoming include fines, suspension of license and registration, and increased monitoring for three years. You can avoid these consequences by meeting Wyoming’s proof of financial responsibility requirements. Wyoming requires that all drivers have at least $25,000 in bodily injury liability coverage, up to $50,000 per accident, along with $20,000 in liability coverage for property damage.… read full answer
Purchasing Wyoming’s minimum liability car insurance coverage is the easiest way to satisfy the financial responsibility requirement. Drivers in Wyoming pay an average of $813 per year to maintain the minimum amount of coverage. That’s nothing compared to the consequences of driving without insurance, especially if you get into an accident.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Wyoming
Type of Offense
License and/or Registration Suspended?
Maximum Fines & Fees
No Proof of Insurance (Can Prove Coverage)
dismissed with proof
1st Offense With No Coverage
up to 6 months
up to $750
Repeat Offense (No Coverage)
up to 6 months
Not having car insurance and not being able to prove that you have it are two different violations. If you have insurance but cannot prove it when you get pulled over or at the scene of an accident, you are guilty of an “administrative violation,” similar to a seat-belt ticket. within 7 days.
Driving without car insurance at all is much more serious, and the penalties are more severe. In addition to the legal consequences, you can also expect your car insurance premium to go up. A single conviction for driving without insurance raises annual premiums by an average of 4%, or $66, in Wyoming.
What happens if you get into a car accident without insurance in Wyoming?
If you get into an accident while driving without insurance in Wyoming, you will be cited and all the penalties for driving without insurance will apply, no matter who is at fault. Driving uninsured can make it difficult to be compensated for damages if you are not at fault and can have long-lasting and life-changing consequences if you are at fault.
If the accident is your fault, you’ll have to pay for all the damages out of your own pocket. In addition to the legal consequences for driving without insurance, you could easily be responsible for tens of thousands of dollars or more in damage to your vehicle, the other driver’s repair and hospital bills, and your own medical care. Both the other driver and their insurance company can sue you and have future wages and savings garnished to pay for damages. You could face mounting debt or even bankruptcy, especially if the other driver doesn’t carry uninsured motorist coverage or personal injury protection.
Even if the accident is not your fault, driving without insurance leaves you vulnerable to expensive hospital and repair bills. Wyoming is an at-fault state. In at-fault states, the other driver is usually responsible for damage to your car and any medical treatment you may need—assuming the other driver is found completely at-fault. Wyoming uses a modified comparative negligence system, which means you may not be able to recover all the costs associated with the accident if you are found partially responsible for causing it.
Driving uninsured doesn’t negate the other driver’s fault entirely, but you’re almost certainly going to be penalized and unable to recover everything you would be entitled to if you had insurance.
You can get car insurance in Wyoming, even if you are…
Uninsured: Unless you’re a newly licensed driver, having a history of driving without insurance or lapses in coverage is a risk to insurers. To insurance companies, it’s similar to a bad driving record, which is why drivers who let their insurance lapse for 60 days pay about 7% more than the average premium in Wyoming.
USAA, State Farm, Nationwide, and Geico tend to have the lowest rates for drivers who want to regain coverage.
Driving someone else’s car: It’s not illegal to drive someone else’s car if you do not have insurance, but non-owner car insurance can protect you if you don’t have a car but still drive regularly. If you borrow a car from someone living in your own home, you should be listed on the car owner’s policy. But you may want to explore non-owner coverage if you need to reinstate a driver’s license, you rent or borrow cars frequently, or you want to maintain continuous auto coverage between vehicles.
Geico, State Farm, Nationwide, and The General good places to shop if you need non-driver car insurance.
High-Risk: If you’re a high-risk driver who has been denied coverage from traditional insurance companies, check out Wyoming’s assigned risk program. Whether you require an assigned risk program or still qualify for high-risk insurance from conventional providers, you’ll pay more. In Wyoming, drivers with just two speeding tickets pay an average of 21% more on their annual car insurance premiums, for example.
Depending on your driving record and the seriousness of your infractions, you could pay even more. Still, even though rates may be higher, at least you can drive legally and avoid more penalties.
Final Thoughts: How to avoid driving without insurance in Wyoming
To avoid the penalties of driving without insurance, shop around for at least $25,000 in bodily injury liability coverage, up to $50,000 per accident, along with $20,000 in liability coverage for property damage In Wyoming, you can find basic liability auto insurance for around $813 per year if you have a clean driving record. The consequences of driving without insurance are ultimately more costly than purchasing minimum auto insurance coverage.
No matter what your unique needs are, the best way to get accurate quotes and the best prices is to comparison shop.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub. Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.