WalletHub, Financial Company
Yes, personal injury protection (PIP) is required in Minnesota. Drivers in Minnesota are required to have at least $40,000 in PIP insurance for medical expenses, plus additional categories of coverage for especially serious accidents.
Minimum PIP Insurance in Minnesota:
- Medical expenses: $20,000
- Physical therapy/rehab: up to $20,000 for this including other categories
- Disability: up to $20,000 for this including other categories
- In-home services: up to $20,000 for this including other categories
- Funeral expenses: $2,000
Personal injury protection helps ensure that everyone on the road in Minnesota has some financial assistance for medical payments in the event of a collision. Drivers in all no-fault states are required to have it because they are restricted in terms of when they can sue another driver for compensation after an accident. That means PIP coverage is their first line of defense if they face hospital bills or a long recovery from an injury.
Car insurance usually costs more in states that require PIP, and Minnesota is no exception. Minnesota drivers pay an average of $975 per year. Car insurance in Minnesota is relatively inexpensive compared to the national average.
Compare that to car insurance in Michigan, which costs about $2,766 per year. Car insurance in Michigan is expensive because it's a no-fault state with high insurance coverage requirements, including the option for unlimited lifetime coverage for catastrophic injuries. Insurance in Minnesota is relatively very affordable as a result.
Minnesota PIP & Insurance Rates:
Yes, PIP is required
Annual cost of insurance
State accident laws
National cost ranking (1=cheapest)
People also ask
Did we answer your question?