Liability insurance pays for others' medical expenses and property damage after an accident you were responsible for. In addition, drivers in Utah will need to purchase $3,000 in personal injury protection coverage to satisfy the state's minimum car insurance requirements.
If Utah drivers do not purchase at least the minimum amounts of car insurance coverage required by Utah law, they can face penalties for driving without insurance.
Drivers should also consider purchasing other types of car insurance in order to better protect themselves, given that liability insurance does not provide any coverage for the policyholder's own injuries or property. For instance, both collision insurance and comprehensive insurance cover damage to the policyholder's car. You will likely also need these types of insurance if your vehicle is financed.
You need enough liability insurance to cover your net worth. Having coverage equal to the value of the assets you own and all the money you have, minus your debt, protects you financially in case of a serious car accident.
When to Carry Only the Minimum Liability Coverage
Although almost every state requires drivers to carry liability insurance, the minimum coverage is not always enough to cover the cost of an accident. It’s always...
No, uninsured motorist coverage is not required in Utah, as drivers can reject the coverage in writing. Still, insurance companies are required to offer at least $25,000 in uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage per person (up to $65,000 per accident).
Uninsured motorist bodily injury (UMBI) coverage pays for the medical bills of the policyholder and their passengers who were injured in an accident with an uninsured motorist. The per-person limit applies to each person injured, while the per-accident...
Yes, personal injury protection (PIP) is required in Utah. Drivers in Utah are required to have at least at least $3,000 of PIP coverage for medical expenses, plus additional categories of coverage for especially serious accidents.
Personal injury protection helps ensure that everyone on the road in Utah has some financial assistance for medical payments in the event of a collision. Drivers in all no-fault states are required to have it because they are...
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub. Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.